Oranged Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I just made this tonight in preparation for the big turkey day. Love it Love it! I have never made homemade cranberry sauce before. I had to step up to the learning curve quick with this recipe. I thought you had to cover it while bring it to a bringing it to a boil. Don't cover it- it ran on to my range top! Okay besides the mess I made, I did add a bit more brown sugar like the recipe and reviewers called for. It took 2 hours to thicken up. The whole downstairs smelled wonderful. It even brought the family downstairs because of the excellent aroma. Thanks for posting! Super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crockpot Kerry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Edgar, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Wonderful recipe! I too added too much water and it took 2 hours to boil down but was well worth it and made the whole house smell yummy in the process. It was so good smelling I mixed some of it in with some squash for dinner and it was really good. I did add a shot of brandy at the end and that blended the flavors just a bit but it was good before that too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This is my GO-TO cranberry sauce. It's so amazing and yummy!! I can eat it right out of the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Super flavorful, will definitely try and make again. Mine did not set up though. I think I maybe added too much water? I don't know. My first time making something like this. I had to strain it to remove some of the liquid. Still enjoyed it very much though and used the left over juice I strained off to heat and serve over waffles the next morning so it worked out great. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This is very close to a recipe I developed for the CTRC (cranberries are good cancer fighters!) I also add a good pinch of salt. An alternative is to also add some adobo sauce from a can of chipotles... if you are serving a smoked turkey, Texas style!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
If I could give this 6 stars, I would. I loved making this, it made my whole house smell wonderful. I had never made cranberry sauce before, and this was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darcheartselton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benton City, Washington, USA
Living In: University Place, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Prepared as written (halved) - outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I've made this for thanksgiving several years in a row. It is delicious, but also super sweet and tangy. If I make it again this year, I'll probably scale back on the sugar. UPDATE: I made the following changes for thanksgiving 2011: omitted the water, slightly reduced the OJ, used about 1.5c brown sugar, and reduced the simmering time to about 20-25 minutes. SO MUCH BETTER! Because you're starting with less liquid, you don't have to let it cook for so long to thicken up. I think I could have reduced the brown sugar even further, so maybe that will be something to try next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I am not a big fan of Cranberry sauce...BUT, this recipe has me hooked. I have made this every Thanksgiving and Christmas for the last three years. Everyone loved. It is now my responsibility to make Cranberry Sauce for the holidays....and every day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Albion, New York, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This was one of the first recipes I found on AR and I've made it ever since. I've always used light brown sugar, but yesterday made it with dark brown sugar and it was excellent. Aways use ground cinnamon in this sauce, just adding to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Cranberry Sauce

Make this easy, crowd-pleasing cranberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States