Oranged Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
This was a hit on Thanksgiving, a nice change of pace. While I liked it , it was a bit tangy for me as I am not a big fan of citrus zest, but it had a great holiday flavor that my family loved. Make sure you taste throughout; you may want to add a little more brown sugar. And, also, I had forgotten that cranberries float...just add enough water until they would be covered if they didn't float. I don't think you can really mess up this really great recipe, so don't worry too much about that step. Also, it makes A LOT of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
Oh my goodness, this was incredible! I've never made cranberry sauce from scratch before... but no more canned stuff for me. This stuff was so good I almost felt like eating it like soup! Got rave review from my family, too, and was plenty for my crowd of 30 people! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
This sauce has a very "robust" flavor that was too strong for some of our family - but I enjoyed it. My only warning is that you need to hold the cranberries down with your hand(s) or something else to determine when you've added enough water. I forgot that cranberries float and added too much before I realized they were floating which resulted in additional cooking time to get the extra liquid to evaporate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
This was my first time making cranberry sauce from scratch. This turned out fabulous! It ended up cooking for about 2 hours, but well worth it. Won't be buying that canned muck again...:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I made this for Thanksgiving. Other reviews said it took about 3 hrs to thicken. It did; however, I think it wouldn't have taken so long if I hadn't lowered it so low. The recipe said "simmer" so to me, that means, low. On my stove I put it on "2," but at 3 hrs cooking it still wasn't thick, so I turned it to "5." It thickened almost immediately. Next time, I'm only lowering to "5" and I'll bet it doesn't take so long. It needed a little more sugar than listed as it was rather tart. Everyone liked it though and it was fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Longoria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
My mother requested this recipe for Thanksgiving and after a first disasterous attempt in the crockpot (don't cook cranberries in the crockpot!!!!), it came out really well. My husband loved it as is, but my mom said she would have preferred it without the cinnamon. I'll be trying it again at Christmas without the cinnamon - overall 4 stars from everyone. Delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2004
Delicious and a great alternative to canned cranberry sauce. My family was relieved to not see the can-shaped gelationous blob this year. Be careful how much water you put in it, and I like to only put in one cinnamon stick. Other than that, even the cranberry sauce haters went crazy for this recipe. The excess was used on rolls-- I even saw my grandfather put some on the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
I prepared this several years ago for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. They ask me to prepare it now every year. You'll never buy cranberry sauce from a jar or can again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEF-JEFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2003
I am used to eating canned cranberry sauce, so this was a real treat. The flavors cannot compare-so rich and warm, with a citrus zing! This recipe made a lot of sauce, but it was quite easy to prepare. I'll never go back to canned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I'm giving this one star, simply because this is much too long to cook any cranberry sauce. Cranberries become bitter if they are cooked after they pop. I'm guessing that's why the recipe calls for twice as much sugar as any other recipe I've seen for cranberry sauce. One comment even stated they were planning to add more sugar next time! Save yourself the trouble, and simmer it for no more than 10 minutes after the berries pop. And add 1 cup of sugar instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States