Oranged Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Made it for Thanksgiving - it was delicious. I was very careful about the water and it still took at least 1 1/2 hours to reduce. I had time to chill it in the frig before dinner - even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
hell yeah, baby BABY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Great taste-loved the recipe. But was confused on how to add enough water to cover a pot of cranberries. They float-right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAISLEYANNE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This is very tasty, but I disagree with the author. You can TOO overcook this. I made this twice because the first time, the sauce really burned up and tasted blackened the whole way through. So the second time, I turned the heat way way down and watched it very closely. Within just one minute it started to burn. Thankfully I caught it fast enough to save it. I don't know what to do about the burning. Maybe I didn't add enough water, but it's hard to tell how much you need. You can't "cover" the cranberries because they float! Anyway, this was very good and I hope to perfect the method someday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
This is a great recipe. It gets lots of compliments. I love the combination of cranberries, orange and cinnamon. For this recipe, I left out the zest simply because I don't like it. With respect to the sugar, I would start with half the amount, then slowly add more. I usually end up with about 3/4 the amount suggested. I also don't simmer the sauce very long. I just let the liquid reduce a bit after the cranberries pop. It is so good it can be eaten by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Tarzana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I'm giving this one star, simply because this is much too long to cook any cranberry sauce. Cranberries become bitter if they are cooked after they pop. I'm guessing that's why the recipe calls for twice as much sugar as any other recipe I've seen for cranberry sauce. One comment even stated they were planning to add more sugar next time! Save yourself the trouble, and simmer it for no more than 10 minutes after the berries pop. And add 1 cup of sugar instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I have made this recipe for 3 years and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This is the first cranberry sauce I ever made from scratch and I will never go back! Served this with a turkey on Christmas and everyone really liked it. I agree with other reviewers that this needed about two hours to cook down -- but I might have added too much water at the beginning -- the cranberries floated, so I wasn't sure how much to add to "cover". But it was easy to make as long as you budget the extra time for cooking down -- and it tastes really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fishkill, New York, USA
Living In: Emmaus, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I grew up with canned cranberry sauce. No one in our family has ever been a huge cranberry sauce fan. I wanted to change that this year... And I succeeded! I did add a vanilla bean I had and a splash of bourbon at the end. The finished product turned out to be a perfect addition to some cranberry quick bread as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Griffin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I was looking for an orangey cranberry sauce for my thanksgiving this recipe was perfect! I don't know how long I cooked it since I just let it simmer on low while I did other things and gave it a stir when I walked through the kitchen, probably about 2 hours overall before I decided that the consistency was right. It thickens a bit more when it cools as well, so it was perfect, not runny at all on the plate. Forgot to add the cinnamon sticks so stirred in a bit of ground cinnamon at the end. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States