Orange Yogurt Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Delicious!!! This reminds me of a pound cake my grandmother used to make. Definitely more cake like than a bread. It's sweet, moist and very good. I followed the recipe exactly. The glaze is yummy and I added a little more orange juice to it and glazed this while it was still warm. I can't wait to try a lemony version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Pretty loaf and nicely, delicately, buttery-orange flavored. However, as others have noted, the title of Orange Yogurt BREAD is definitely misleading as this is a cake - and I'd have liked it a little more moist. I'm hoping that I'll notice what another reviewer did, that this issue improves the next day. It seems this cake would benefit from a simple syrup (flavored orange) brushed on while still warm, letting it soak into the cake and infusing it with extra moisture. I enjoyed it, but not enough to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2007
Very nice sweet bread! I agree with reviewer who said this is a cross b/ a quick bread and a cake. I used lemon zest in lieu of orange because that's what I had...I think the glaze really makes the cake! I reduced the sugar a bit and the glaze really added a tangy/sweet combo that I thought was delicious. Also---baked mine in a 9 X 13 pan and it was done in 40 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This was pretty good. It's moist and easy as can be -- sort of a cross between a cake and a quick bread. I agree it doesn't need the glaze, although I used a bit. I think the crumb would have finer with only one leavener. If I make this again, it'll be with just baking powder. I can taste the baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thedumpling

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
OMG!!! This is absolutely amazing!! Right now my 3yr old is tapping my back saying "Mommy,can I have more cake". I made with fresh squeezed OJ, from the zested orange. I baked in a ruffly bundt pan and it is beautiful as well as sinfully delish!! I hope it makes it 'till my hubby gets home from work ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Very tasty. I used lemon zest instead of orange zest and I used 1/4 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice and 1/4 cup freshly squeezed orange juice . The result was a moist and somewhat tangy delicious cake. I didn't add the glaze because I was out of icing sugar.But you know what? It really didn't need it. Anyway, I gave it only four stars because the name is misleading. This is by no means a bread, is a CAKE!!Other than that it gets five stars for taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Wow, this made a great little cupcake. I halved the recipe & made about 7 of them. The combo of yogurt and butter makes them really moist. I'm not big on glazes, so I made a buttercream/orange frosting. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Very good- I just think it calls for way too much butter. I doubled the recipe but didn't double the butter. I didn't have enough orange peel so I added some orange extract. I used vanilla yogurt and decreased the sugar. I agree with some reviewers who say it is almost like a cake. The glaze makes it really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Very good! I substituted splenda for sugar and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha King

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Very tasty bread, but I had trouble keeping it in a 9X5X3 inch bread pan. I think next time I'll make it as cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M.A.Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States