Orange Yogurt Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I like the orangey taste of this. But I do think that 1 1/4 cups sugar is too sweet. I had used slightly less than 1 cup sugar, and I still think it is too sweet... but the citrus taste is very refreshing! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Could be moister, but it's pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Love this recipe! As other reviewers have said, I would say it is more cake-like, but I rather like that quality about it. I did make one substitution (which I wish I hadn't), subbing 1 tsp lemon juice for the orange peel. Making that sub it didn't come out quite as "orangey" as I would have thought. Next time, I will definitely use the peel or at least orange extract. Overall, I loved this recipe and will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonnata

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Normally I read a few reviews prior to making recipes, especially baked items, but this time I quickly searched 'oranges' (have a ton of fresh tangerines to use) and 'yogurt' (ditto vanilla yogurt) and the results led me to this bread. After baking then glazing with a simple syrup while still warm, I cut into the bread and discovered it to be more like a pound cake. And that's not a bad thing considering pound cakes usually call for, well, way more butter than this recipe does. Like pound cakes, though, this bread does go stale quickly, so it's best eaten the day it's baked or later used for trifle or shortcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I made this bread, with a couple modifications. I used lemon zest instead of orange and squeezed in half of the lemon. It had a lemon/orange citrus flavor. Only issue I had was the bread didn't really rise and fell flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salisbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Portage, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Very tasty. I used lemon zest instead of orange zest and I used 1/4 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice and 1/4 cup freshly squeezed orange juice . The result was a moist and somewhat tangy delicious cake. I didn't add the glaze because I was out of icing sugar.But you know what? It really didn't need it. Anyway, I gave it only four stars because the name is misleading. This is by no means a bread, is a CAKE!!Other than that it gets five stars for taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Call it bread. Call it cake. Whatever you call it, this is the best bread. I used orange yogurt, added zest to the icing to really up the orange flavor. This bread is super moist and flavorful. The only problem - my family inhaled it before I could take a picture. Will get one next time (might be tomorrow, we miss the bread already).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Pretty loaf and nicely, delicately, buttery-orange flavored. However, as others have noted, the title of Orange Yogurt BREAD is definitely misleading as this is a cake - and I'd have liked it a little more moist. I'm hoping that I'll notice what another reviewer did, that this issue improves the next day. It seems this cake would benefit from a simple syrup (flavored orange) brushed on while still warm, letting it soak into the cake and infusing it with extra moisture. I enjoyed it, but not enough to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This orange bread was amazing. We have made it several times and it is super easy and delicious. It is always eaten up right away! It tastes more like a pound cake than bread, but definitely a recipie worth making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
My family and I really enjoyed this bread. The flavor and texture were great. I have made it several times and used it for one of my 4-H projects. The only thing that I changed was the amount of orange juice in the glaze. I had to use 5 teaspoons instead of 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States