Orange White Chocolate Chip Beltane Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Not the prettiest cookie ever (kind of anemic looking and the white chocolate chips started to turn color), but they had a lot of potential, so I made them more eye appealing and gave them a boost of orange flavor at the same time by drizzling on a glaze of powdered sugar, fresh orange juice and zest. That glaze took these over the top to something outrageously delicious - buttery, creamy with white chocolate, unmistakably orange and very rich. A thick, soft and tender cookie. Adding orange extract as some others have is NOT necessary. Adding the fresh orange glaze, on the other hand, is. Mmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
These cookies didn't have nearly enough orange flavor. Even after I added an 1 tablespoon of orange extract, they weren't orange-y enough. Since they aren't a very sweet cookie, either, I glazed them with some orange glaze. With the glaze they were pretty fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Great recipe, but I used three tbsp of orange zest and added one tbsp of orange extract. They tasted great, and the orange wasn't overwhelming at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by la belle vie
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
These are tasty! I made exactly as written except using a bit more orange zest. I also made a glaze and drizzled it over the top by combining powdered sugar and orange juice till it reached a good consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by la belle vie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I have been making this cookie for years except in my recipe I melt 1/4 cup of chocolate chips in a heavy duty zip bag, snip off a tiny corner of the bag and pipe the melted chocolate straight across and then I do the same with white chocolate chips and pipe it across in the opposite direction. Let the cookie set until the chocolate firms up. It makes them look pretty and adds another layer of flavor. My friend always brought these to a cookie swap at church and when she moved to Florida we wouldn't let her leave until she gave out the recipe. I hope this helps with the people who said the cookies were anemic or plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stjchurchcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
These cookies were exceptional to make and the orange flavoring hit the spot. I had trouble grating the orange zest (I don't have a fine grater) so I grated what I could and used a dash of orange extract. The cookies were beautifully puffed, light, zesty and the white chocolate chips were heavenly. Thanks for such a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2001
Absolutely wonderful! They're light and orangy--perfect for Beltaine, or even in the middle of winter if you want a nice sunny-tasting cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I want to buy a cookie jar just so I can fill it full of these. This is the first time I've reviewed a recipe and I have to say that I am madly in love with these cookies. I followed the suggestion of other reviewers and substituted 1 tbps orange flavoring for the vanilla. The dough was incredibly dry after adding all the flour, so I also added 2 tbsp milk just to give it enough moisture to be able to incorporate the white chocolate chips. I also added 1/2 cup of chipped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I love these cookies! I make them a little bit large and they end up having a shortbread-like consistency. I've made them both ways (with orange zest one time and then another time with orange extract) and they turned out fabulous. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Very yummy. I was afraid of them not being orange-y enough based on the reviews so I zested two whole oranges and squeezed the juice out of one of the oranges into the wet mix before I added it to the dry. I also used a full cup of white chocolate chips. They came out perfect. Next time I might try dark chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States