Orange White Chocolate Chip Beltane Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Not the prettiest cookie ever (kind of anemic looking and the white chocolate chips started to turn color), but they had a lot of potential, so I made them more eye appealing and gave them a boost of orange flavor at the same time by drizzling on a glaze of powdered sugar, fresh orange juice and zest. That glaze took these over the top to something outrageously delicious - buttery, creamy with white chocolate, unmistakably orange and very rich. A thick, soft and tender cookie. Adding orange extract as some others have is NOT necessary. Adding the fresh orange glaze, on the other hand, is. Mmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
These cookies didn't have nearly enough orange flavor. Even after I added an 1 tablespoon of orange extract, they weren't orange-y enough. Since they aren't a very sweet cookie, either, I glazed them with some orange glaze. With the glaze they were pretty fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Great recipe, but I used three tbsp of orange zest and added one tbsp of orange extract. They tasted great, and the orange wasn't overwhelming at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SMClanton
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
These are tasty! I made exactly as written except using a bit more orange zest. I also made a glaze and drizzled it over the top by combining powdered sugar and orange juice till it reached a good consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMClanton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I have been making this cookie for years except in my recipe I melt 1/4 cup of chocolate chips in a heavy duty zip bag, snip off a tiny corner of the bag and pipe the melted chocolate straight across and then I do the same with white chocolate chips and pipe it across in the opposite direction. Let the cookie set until the chocolate firms up. It makes them look pretty and adds another layer of flavor. My friend always brought these to a cookie swap at church and when she moved to Florida we wouldn't let her leave until she gave out the recipe. I hope this helps with the people who said the cookies were anemic or plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stjchurchcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
These cookies were exceptional to make and the orange flavoring hit the spot. I had trouble grating the orange zest (I don't have a fine grater) so I grated what I could and used a dash of orange extract. The cookies were beautifully puffed, light, zesty and the white chocolate chips were heavenly. Thanks for such a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2001
Absolutely wonderful! They're light and orangy--perfect for Beltaine, or even in the middle of winter if you want a nice sunny-tasting cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I want to buy a cookie jar just so I can fill it full of these. This is the first time I've reviewed a recipe and I have to say that I am madly in love with these cookies. I followed the suggestion of other reviewers and substituted 1 tbps orange flavoring for the vanilla. The dough was incredibly dry after adding all the flour, so I also added 2 tbsp milk just to give it enough moisture to be able to incorporate the white chocolate chips. I also added 1/2 cup of chipped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I love these cookies! I make them a little bit large and they end up having a shortbread-like consistency. I've made them both ways (with orange zest one time and then another time with orange extract) and they turned out fabulous. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This cookie has a great texture to it, but I was disappointed with the lack of orange flavor, even after adding an extra tablespoon of orange zest. After re-reading others' comments, I realize that fresh orange zest is needed in this recipe (I used dried zest I had in my cupboard from a bread recipe). I managed to "up" the orange oomph I wanted with an orange glaze as others had suggested. If I make these again, I will probably use the extra tablespoon of (fresh) zest, and add the orange extract some have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States