Orange White Chocolate Chip Beltane Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by valkyire
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I made these cookies today. They were good. I felt that they did lack orange flavor, even with doubling up on the orange zest. I would add some orange extract and decrease the sugar a bit as they were really sweet for me, next time. These cookies were nice and crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside and would go great with a nice cup of tea! All in all, good cookies, just needs a bit more orange flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
These Cookies are Great!! I added some brown suger to the recipe to give it color and more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I made these with orange glazing since I was going for quite an orange-y flavour, and by themselves I, like others before me, found they had too subtle a taste. With glazing, I found them okay, definitely enjoyable if you just need something to go with a cup of coffee or tea, but not amazing. I was disappointed that I didn't taste the white chocolate at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I tried it, but I had no orange zest. So I replace the quantity written for zest with cinnamon and added more chocolate chips. I also added 3 tablespoons of milk, since the final dough lacked moisture. Very good recipe; simple and short and sweet. Just like beginners like me need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I didn't change the recipe at all, except to add orange glaze. I refrigerated half of the dough in rolls to cut and bake later. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Unbelievable cookies! My family devoured them. I did at 1 tb of orange extract and put a whole cup of white chocolate chips in. Don't cook them for more than 12 minutes, they may be soft but will set after a few minutes. The glaze is a must. Mix a couple of tb's of orange juice with confectioners sugar. Make it really thick and transfer into a small ziploc bag. Make the tiniest hole in the corner and glaze the cookies. That's how you get white looking professional glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
as is, 3 stars. I added more zest and white chocolate chips, almost doubling quantity AFTER trying original recipe. I also added orange juice from the fruit I was zesting since the batter was sooooo thick and somewhat difficult to manipulate. After sampling the baked product, I followed some reviewers' advice and mixed up a glaze of powdered sugar, orange juice and a dash of vanilla extract to top the cookies. I used this to frost 1/2 the cookies lightly. I melted 1/2 cup white chocolate chips in a bowl in microwave and mixed in a drop of red food coloring and a drop of yellow, drizzling over the other 1/2 of the cookies...all were gobbled up. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesli M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Instead of vanilla, I used orange extract - I also increased the orange zest to 3 Tablespoons. Out of the 9 cookies I made for Christmas, these were rated #1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
These were tasty cookies. I added dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This is a really great cookie, the orange flavor paired with the white chocolate is a nice change from the ordinary chocolate chip or white chocolate/macadamia nut cookie. I'd recommend adding an additional tbsp of fresh orange zest, and cutting back on the sugar to 1 cup. These took 14 minutes at 350 in my oven, and my family couldn't stop eating them. Thanks for sharing this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States