Orange Walnut Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This recipes is so easy and yummy. I made them for the dessert table over christmas. I pretty much followed the directions as stated. I used my cookie dough scooper to make the balls. I think that helped keeped the texture of the candies a little bit lighter. I don't care for walnuts so I just drizzled some melted chocolate on top. These are defiantly better after sitting for a day or two. Making them again this weekend but going to use lemon concentrate instead and see how that flavor turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Good but VERY sweet. Not a cookie...definitely candy. Not sure if I will make again as they were too sweet for me and no one really raved about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I took another reviewer's suggestion and added more powdered sugar (4 cups total). They were not sticky and would not hold the walnuts. So, I blended them in and added 1 tsp dried orange peel. They rolled easily, but were a bit dry. So I dipped them in melted dark chocolate. YUMMY!! For anyone who likes orange and chocolate together, these are wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I read the reviews above and decided to alter the recipe before I began! I only added 3 cups total of confectioner's sugar to the mix and about 3/4 of the stick of butter. I also put 1/2 grand marnier 1/2 OJ concentrate to make things a little more interesting ;) I did not find any orange sugar to roll them in - and I would suggest you try! They look a little drab rolled in white - but they tasted FANTASTIC!! I had no trouble rolling them, and cutting down on the sugar inside was balanced by when they were rolled in sugar! The Grand Marnier added a nice kick to them as well!! It was SUCH a QUICK and EASY recipe - even I couldn't screw it up! These will definitely make it on my list again next year! :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingwithtrainingwheels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I have a recipe very similar to this that you rolll in coconut. the problem with the dough not being firm enough to roll is the melting of the butter. soften the butter but do no.t melt. mix everything very well with paddle attachment of stand mixer, then pick up a smalll hanfull of nuts or coconut, a small amount of dough, and press/roll into balls, letting excess nuts fall back into bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Point Pleasant, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Dunbar, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I have made these before and I have also had trouble rolling them into balls. If you let it chill for about an hour before rolling I think it helps. Also, I typically add about 1/4 cup more sugar or wafers. A variation I have made is to dip them in melted white chocolate after letting them cool for about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
OK, I am tore on this recipe, so I'm giving it 3.5 stars. It was super easy to prepare and smells great, tastes fantastic (sweet/tart flavor). However, as written, the recipe was not firm enough for me to roll into balls, and I actually halved the melted butter to begin with. I ended up adding 1/2-3/4 cups extra confectioners' sugar and kneaded that in really well; that worked! I rolled into balls, but for some reason the nuts would NOT stick to them even though the dough was sticky enough to have stuff adhere to it (not the recipes fault). I was getting so frustrated that I just dumped about 1 cup of the nuts into the mixture, kneaded them in, rolled into balls and rolled those into orange colored sanding sugar. They ended up being very good, but very sweet, which is fine w/ me...candy is supposed to be sweet! All in all I really liked the flavor of these and plan to try them again sometime, maybe rolling in finely crushed vanilla wafer crumbs or something. Thanks for posting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
My candy did not roll into balls. Does anyone have a suggestion on how to use the "batter" do not want to waste, the taste is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
These are so good. I also dipped them in chocolate and and so yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States