Orange Vinaigrette Brown Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Not sure if this was mentioned, but I used mandarin oranges (canned) with the juice instead of the oranges. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I can only review this recipe on dressing alone because I didn't use it with a brown rice salad. The dressing is amazing, so so wonderful. I made as is with an addition of a little cracked black pepper. I think next time I'll increase the vinegar b/c it could use a little more zing but overall, just what I was looking for. I used this dressing on a salad of spinich, orange segments, toasted pecans, diced red onion, and crumbled crispy bacon. Would have added blue cheese or gorgonzolla but didn't have any. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branford, Florida, USA
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by polly625
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
We really like this salad. I saw someone on Top Chef make a rice salad and thought it sounded good. I added garlic to the dressing and more vinegar (we thought it was too sweet and needed more zing). Make sure you supreme your oranges and then cut them into small pieces. The pith would be terrible so you want to get all that off the orange. I left out the onion, but my husband said he thinks it would have been even better with it (he likes onion, I don't and I was being lazy :)!) Try this it's yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by polly625

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I followed the directions exactly - it came out very dry. Made it for a birthday BBQ ~ my guest ate it but I didn't get any compliments from those who usually love my cooking. I wouldn't make this rice salad again ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
I really enjoyed this salad. I used brown basmati rice, which is a fairly short grain and I think a long grain brown rice would have been a better choice. The dressing was awesome, I added a dash of garlic powder to it and that added just the right flavor, espcially since I didn't use any onion in the salad. If you use a really good quality balsamic vinegar it isn't going to be too strong in the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2006
The orange taste over powered everything, it was too sweet and made way too much. There was closer to enough for at least 6 and possibly 8. I ate about a cup, but my husband only picked the oranges and spinach out of his. I won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
i liked the flavor of this, but my mom and some others weren't all that impressed. first off, mine looked nothing like the picture on this site!!! i think this is probably best fresh. as it continues to sit, the flavors do enhance, but the oranges become bitter and the spinach wilts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Love the step of adding the dressing to the (vunerable) hot rice. I cut the spinach to match the cut of the onion and used mandarin oranges to save time. However, my salad in the end was a little soupy and too moist. Not sure if it was my rice preparation or the amount of dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
Not a good flavor combination; will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
I used white and wild rice (what I had in the pantry) and cooked it with a little butter and salt. I left out the spinach, orange and onion. Instead I used dried cranberries, apricots and golden rasins. For the dressing I doubled the orange juice and omitted the honey. This makes a wonderful salad to serve with cold chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States