Orange Vegan Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I've made this cake twice, and plan on making it more in the future. It's moist and delicious, and I like that the recipe just happens to be vegan, rather than using a bunch of substitutes. Perfect flavors for Fall, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This cake is surprisingly moist and very tasty! I made it with pineapple juice instead of orange, and it was a huge success with vegans and non-vegans alike :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Chlewicki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
LOVED IT! I added the zest of the orange in addition to the juice from it. I also added 1t of pumpkin pie spice. Another reviewer mentioned making a glaze for this cake out of vegan butter, powdered sugar, orange zest, and walnuts. That put the recipe right over the top! I loved that this was easy and quick to make. We will definitely come back to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Delicious and simple! I used canola instead of vegetable oil, so if you're doing this, I'd recommend using a little less, because you can definitely taste it. I also added Trader Joe's pumpkin pie spice (about a teaspoon should do, you could also just add any spice blend of your choosing). Will certainly be coming back to this recipe. *Also, just make sure you get all the seeds out of the orange(s) you're using*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
This cake is good but I will use it as a jumping off point from now on as I felt it needed more flavour. Next time I will also both flour and grease the pan as the cake stuck with just greasing it. I will add orange zest along with some fresh nutmeg, as well as using brown sugar for half the sugar called for, and some vanilla. Also based on ratio, only 1 tsp of baking soda is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: St. Thomas, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Great recipe! I substitute sugar with honey and white flour with spelt flour. The cake didn't rise as the picture however it's light, fluffy and tastes amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Awesome recipe!! Tasted just like orange cookies!! Mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Lutz-Host

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
My cake came out tasting like baking soda. Tried again with a teaspoon of baking powder and it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mistyaqua

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Pretty simple recipe, which I love. I made a glaze for it as well, with powdered sugar, orange zest and orange juice, vegan butter, and walnuts. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Pretty tasty. I added vanilla extract,cinnamon and some cardamom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States