Orange Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I've used Alton Brown's turkey brine recipe for 3 years. While his is great, this one is better! Easy to put together, much more economical and the taste was fabulous. I brine turkeys in a 5 gallon bucket with a lid. I reduce the liquid in the recipe and put ice in the bucket after placing the turkey in it. I set the bucket in the garage and in the cooler months the ice stays frozen overnight and well into the next day. In the warmer months I add ice as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
WOW. I used a 7 pound chicken instead of a turkey for this recipe, roasted it in a roasting bag according to the instructions, then served it with some Brazilian-style black beans and rice with traditional fixings. Everyone said it was the best chicken they had ever had! Incredibly moist and great flavor. I also put the fruit and bay leaves in the cavity when I roasted it for maximum flavor. This recipe is a MUST try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Delish! Turkey was juicy and had a lot of flavor without be too citrusy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
My turkey came out nice and moist. I'm almost entirely happy with this recipe. The only thing I don't like is that it gets heated and needs to be cooled. To cool this safely within proper time and temperature constraints takes too much time, attention, ice, and patience than I really had on Wednesday. I wonder whether this wouldn't be equally effective without the heating step. If you're happy to do that extra work, I'd say you'll be happy with this recipe, just as I was. Next time, however, I'm going to seek out another recipe for brining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Amazing! I was an absolute hit at the dinner table all thanks to this recipe. I brined the turkey for 48hrs, washed it out and let it sit for an hour while preparing the stuffing. Then I put my Martha Stuart reading materials to use and stuffed the bird with help of a cheese cloth. Shortly after I lathered my hands up with butter and went to work on the bird. We squeezed a bunch of lemon on it when all was buttered & ready to cook. Then, I based it a few times while cooking, but not all that frequently. The brining really kept the bird sufficiently moist and tender without the nuisance of constant basting. Both the dark and white meat was extremely moist and tender. My family were truly amazed and we will definitely do this again next year! (now that they know what brining is)*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lynbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
i used this recipe on a grocery store brand of 13# turkey that I paid $3.27 for! The turkey was moist and had a delicous flavor. I only brined it for 14 hours because I started late. I'll never hesitate again to purchase a "store brand" turkey knowing that brining really works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I have brined in the past but this recipe was fantastic this Thanksgiving. I will use this again. The turkey was so moist. I stuffed the turkey with an orange, lemon and an onion. I massaged melted butter all over and salt & peppered inside and out. Go easy on the salt. Make sure you rinse the turkey real well before and after brining. Debra
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I made this in a smaller proportion for a chicken. It was a hit with my in-laws, and they asked for the recipe. I left it in the brine for 24 hours,and I basted the chicken with butter while it was roasting. It didn't have a strong orange flavor, but just enough flavor to make it interesting to the taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennaPlum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I've been cooking turkeys for 35 years and this one was the best. We were camping with friends when I used this recipe. Cooked the bird on our gas grill in an open roasting pan. The bird was done a little earlier than I thought and was just GORGEOUS. People came from all over the group site to take pictures of the beautiful, golden brown bird. SO tender and yummy. I rinsed the bird before rossting, so not too salty, just juicy. We won't be using the bags again when camping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I thought this was a great brine, and I would use it again. I've brined my turkeys for years now, but I generally use a little more Kosher salt to the amount of liquid (it doesn't make it "salty"), and this turkey was not quite as moist. Next time, I'll just add a little more Kosher salt. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Orange Cumin Vinaigrette

A simple salad dressing seasoned with Dijon, orange zest, and cumin.

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Liqueur

This tart, sweet relish needs no cooking, and the liqueur packs a subtle punch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States