Orange Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This Turkey Brine was sooo good! My turkey was so flavorful and juicy it was the best I've made yet. I added 32oz of chicken broth and a few sprigs of thyme, rosemary and sage and it gave it that much more flavor...I will definitley use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
oh my gosh....this brine smells so incredibly good, I can hardly wait to put my turkey in it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barbbutler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This was the first time I ever brined or roasted a turkey. The breast was incredibly moist. It was my favorite! Restaurant supply stores were closed when I was ready to brine so I bought a 5 gallon container with a lid at Home Depot (versus a food grade container), a brine bag & a bag of ice. I separated the brine bag from the container with ice, as much as possible and refilled it only once before going to bed since it was a cool night. I used Alton Brown (Food Network) shorter brining times (8-16 hours) and easy cooking methods. Inserting a thermometer is key for newbies like me! The brining liquid took about 3 hours to cool down so I will make it earlier next time. I was scared of a moist but flavorless turkey, so I massaged the turkey (under the skin) with a paste of garlic, oregano & a little canola oil right before roasting. It turned out great. I will make it on Thanksgiving. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This is a very forgiving recipe. It allows for a slight(and I mean slight) citrus taste but what it really does is help to keep the bird nice a moist while cooking. I made it once and all I had was pink lemonade concentrate and my family loved it(my husband is a chef mind you) So go ahead and brine!!!!! It makes meat that can tend to be dry much, much juicier. Enjoy and play with the flavors...any kind of juice is nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I was a little disappointed with this recipe. I quess I was expecting a little more flavor in the meat than what I got. I even added an extra orange inside the bird with some fresh thyme and parsley, but this was not what I was looking for. Yes, the bird was a little moist but not that moist. This was a bit of a dissapointment. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Lake, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ambia, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This brine was awesome. The turkey was moist, flavorful and I kept receiving compliments all day long. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I thought this was a great brine, and I would use it again. I've brined my turkeys for years now, but I generally use a little more Kosher salt to the amount of liquid (it doesn't make it "salty"), and this turkey was not quite as moist. Next time, I'll just add a little more Kosher salt. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I've been cooking turkeys for 35 years and this one was the best. We were camping with friends when I used this recipe. Cooked the bird on our gas grill in an open roasting pan. The bird was done a little earlier than I thought and was just GORGEOUS. People came from all over the group site to take pictures of the beautiful, golden brown bird. SO tender and yummy. I rinsed the bird before rossting, so not too salty, just juicy. We won't be using the bags again when camping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I made this in a smaller proportion for a chicken. It was a hit with my in-laws, and they asked for the recipe. I left it in the brine for 24 hours,and I basted the chicken with butter while it was roasting. It didn't have a strong orange flavor, but just enough flavor to make it interesting to the taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennaPlum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I have brined in the past but this recipe was fantastic this Thanksgiving. I will use this again. The turkey was so moist. I stuffed the turkey with an orange, lemon and an onion. I massaged melted butter all over and salt & peppered inside and out. Go easy on the salt. Make sure you rinse the turkey real well before and after brining. Debra
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Orange Cumin Vinaigrette

A simple salad dressing seasoned with Dijon, orange zest, and cumin.

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Liqueur

This tart, sweet relish needs no cooking, and the liqueur packs a subtle punch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States