Orange Tapioca Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Can never go wrong with this recipe in the summer. Perfect as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
My wonderful step-mom used to make this all the time with 2 packs of the orange jello (no pudding) and cook and serve tapioca. (Back in the day we could get instant tapioca.) I use sugar-free jello and no one notices! Also use extra orange segments to decorate and maraschino cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I doubled this recipe for a church potluck. Next time I will use an extra box of orange jello (3) so it sets up better. It was a bit soupy, but it still disappeared !! I got a lot of compliments on it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I used the mandarin orange juice as part of the three cups of liquid, replacing some of the water. I also added two sliced bananas to the mix right before serving it. 'Twas a hit at our family Christmas dinner. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
My grandmother made this for all our holiday dinners and the whole family loves it. Planning to make it for Mother's day this weekend and couldn't find my recipe and grandma's long gone...so happy to find it here. Instead of putting oranges on top she topped it with o maraschino cherry halves...pretty and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This is a staple fruit salad for family functions. I have always used the cook and serve for all three jellos and not the instant. This is the first recipe I have seen with the instant. A couple tips: I double the oranges as I have had comments that there was not enough. The longer I waited to add the cool whip and oranges the more firm it was in the end. I usually do the jello the night before and then stir in the fruit and cool whip the morning of the lunch/dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I got this recipe from a friend's mom and have been making it for years. The recipe I have uses two boxes of the tapioca instead of one of tapioca and one of pudding. I can't find the America Instant Tapioca that it called for anymore, but the jello cook and serve tapioca works just as well. The best part is that you don't have to use the same jello and fruit flavors. One of my favorites is peach jello with peaches and blueberrys. I recently tried the new mango jello flavor and added crushed pineapple, small chunks of mango, coconut and macadamia nuts. It was a big hit at an office party. This is not relegated to salad staus either. One of my favorite things to do is to make it the night before when I have company. Then leave it out as a topping for waffles as a self serve breakfast. The combinations are endless. I have done strawberry and banana, strawberry and raspberry, black cherry and banana, etc. To enhance the flavor if you want you can use the fruit juice instead of water. Just add water to make up the volume if there is not enough fruit juice. And don't ever use fresh pineapple as the jello will not set up, it tastes fine its just sort of runny like pudding. I obviously learned this lesson the hard way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I rated this four stars due to flavor. The texture was messed up on my behalf. I used the minute tapioca instead of the instant. It set up WAY too good. Very stiff. Like eating paste. My fault. I'm planning on trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momuv4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
When I have made this recipe, I use both the cook and serve vanilla and tapioca pudding. Use the reserved liquid from the mandarin oranges along with the water to equal 3 cups. I doubled the mandarin oranges. Gently boil the puddings with water/juice combo and the jello till it thickens. Continue to follow recipe and add mini-marshmallows also. Kids love it! I have also done this with frozen strawberries and juices with strawberry jello - its fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States