Orange Spiced Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
I made this for Christmas Eve dinner--just for two. It was wonderful! So quick, so easy and so tasty! I did make a few changes: based on one review, I switched the amounts of orange juice with the soy sauce. I used currants rather than raisins (just because I had currants which I wanted to use up). I also added slivers of the peel of one navel orange and 1/4 teaspoon ground hot red peppers. I served it with white rice and garlic green beans. I did have a bit of leftovers and the hot pepper taste was more pronounced. I will definitely make this again--many times, I'm sure! I think I will also make it with beef strips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
I liked this dish, and it was really easy to make. However, I think that the next time I make it, I will switch the amounts of soy sauce and orange juice, as I really couldn't taste that much orange flavor. Other than that, it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
Mmmm...I have made this countless times since I found the recipe here. I switched the orange and soy around and added orange zest to make it that more orangey....GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
Pretty good. I took some posted suggestions and added 3/4 cup juice and 1/4 cup soy sauce and subst. honey for sugar. I also added 1/4 tsp of chili powder. It could have used 1/2 tsp chili powder. Instead of plain OJ, I used pineapple orange juice. Yummy! It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
I have to agree with another member that the amts for the orange juice and soy sauce was switched. Next time I will use 1/2 cup orange juice and 1/4 cup soy sauce. I love soy sauce, so even this first time wasn't bad. I enjoyed the raisins in the marinade too! I served this with rice and chinese veggies. Very good and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
Delicious! Per other reviews, I switched the orange juice and soy sauce amounts and added a bit of chili powder. The sauce was pretty liquidy which was great when served over rice, but maybe next time I'll try adding a tiny dash of cornstarch to help the sauce stick to the chicken better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Just ok. I followed other reviews and swapped the oj and soy sauce measurments. I ended with a sauce that was too thin to spoon over the chicken. It was really salty a well. I wont attempt this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennM

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
I have a question, are the amounts for the OJ and the soy sauce backwards, by any chance? The intro. says that it's supposed to be,"A classic, traditional orange flavored chicken dish with a kick!" but the predominate taste is the soy sauce. IF, I make it again, I'm going to switch the amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
i omitted the raisins, used 3/4 cup OJ, 2tbspn soy sauce, added 1 hot pepper(add up to 2, adjust taste for spicy food) replaced honey with sugar, julianned carrots and put them in with the marinade and chicken in oven. Marinaded for 5 hours plus....mmmmmm mmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
This was good but at the same time the flavor of Orange juice was lost in the soy sauce. I think next time I will add less soy and more orange juice. Also I noticed that the juice started to dry up towards the end of cooking so I will use more of each too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States