Orange Spiced Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
I made this for Christmas Eve dinner--just for two. It was wonderful! So quick, so easy and so tasty! I did make a few changes: based on one review, I switched the amounts of orange juice with the soy sauce. I used currants rather than raisins (just because I had currants which I wanted to use up). I also added slivers of the peel of one navel orange and 1/4 teaspoon ground hot red peppers. I served it with white rice and garlic green beans. I did have a bit of leftovers and the hot pepper taste was more pronounced. I will definitely make this again--many times, I'm sure! I think I will also make it with beef strips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
I liked this dish, and it was really easy to make. However, I think that the next time I make it, I will switch the amounts of soy sauce and orange juice, as I really couldn't taste that much orange flavor. Other than that, it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
Mmmm...I have made this countless times since I found the recipe here. I switched the orange and soy around and added orange zest to make it that more orangey....GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
Pretty good. I took some posted suggestions and added 3/4 cup juice and 1/4 cup soy sauce and subst. honey for sugar. I also added 1/4 tsp of chili powder. It could have used 1/2 tsp chili powder. Instead of plain OJ, I used pineapple orange juice. Yummy! It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
I have to agree with another member that the amts for the orange juice and soy sauce was switched. Next time I will use 1/2 cup orange juice and 1/4 cup soy sauce. I love soy sauce, so even this first time wasn't bad. I enjoyed the raisins in the marinade too! I served this with rice and chinese veggies. Very good and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
Delicious! Per other reviews, I switched the orange juice and soy sauce amounts and added a bit of chili powder. The sauce was pretty liquidy which was great when served over rice, but maybe next time I'll try adding a tiny dash of cornstarch to help the sauce stick to the chicken better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Just ok. I followed other reviews and swapped the oj and soy sauce measurments. I ended with a sauce that was too thin to spoon over the chicken. It was really salty a well. I wont attempt this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennM

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
I have a question, are the amounts for the OJ and the soy sauce backwards, by any chance? The intro. says that it's supposed to be,"A classic, traditional orange flavored chicken dish with a kick!" but the predominate taste is the soy sauce. IF, I make it again, I'm going to switch the amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
i omitted the raisins, used 3/4 cup OJ, 2tbspn soy sauce, added 1 hot pepper(add up to 2, adjust taste for spicy food) replaced honey with sugar, julianned carrots and put them in with the marinade and chicken in oven. Marinaded for 5 hours plus....mmmmmm mmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
This was good but at the same time the flavor of Orange juice was lost in the soy sauce. I think next time I will add less soy and more orange juice. Also I noticed that the juice started to dry up towards the end of cooking so I will use more of each too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States