Orange Slice Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
My mother made this every Christmas since the 1960's. The only difference - her recipe called for 2 tablespoons of grated orange peel and was baked at 325. She always used a large (16 x 5 x 5) loaf pan. In recent years, I've been the one who bakes it each December. The cake always collapsed when the glaze was poured over it, so a couple of years ago, I tried heating the glaze in the microwave first. It works! The cake remains full size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I had never even HEARD of orange slice cake before, and a girl I work with wanted to know if I would make her one......(I made decorated cakes as a hobby/2nd job)...so I tried this recipe, and it is AWESOME!!!!!!! It smelled so good when it came out of the oven, my husband made me make a 2nd one just for us!!!!! It's so moist and delicious, it's almost like a fruit cake without all that nasty fruit!!!! Try this one, you will definitely love it!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This must be a Southern recipe. All my age-50+ friends in Atlanta, GA absolutely loved it. Brought back memories for them of Christmases past. I cut it into 24 slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Fruit cake haters beware. This cake is much like a "poor man's" fruit cake with orange slice candy rather than candied fruit. I've used recipes similar to this one that adds pineapples, no nuts, and an entire package a coconut (great for coconut lovers). HELPFUL TIPS: Coat the candy in the flour used in the recipe before blending and this will help with the candy sticking on the side of the pan. Dip your cutting knife in warm water, flour or spray with nonstick cooking spray to prevent the candy from sticking on the knife before cutting up the orange slice candies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geekygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This was a bomb. Tasted good, but scared off the fruitcake-wary folks, too sweet for some, and not at all kid friendly. Orange slice cake 2 (on this website) is nearly identical but in a 9x13 and baked slower & longer. IF I were to try again, I'd do that. In this one, the candy bits against the tube pan were hard to free up after baking, and the finished product was thought to be a fruitcake. Those of us who tasted it liked the flavor, but could only eat a tiny sliver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This cake gets rave reviews and everyone always asks for the recipe. I added a couple tablespoons of orange marmalade to the glaze for an added orange kick....great stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
My grandmother has made this same recipe for years, and it is absolutely fabulous. It has a very similar texture to a fruitcake, but it's sooo much better! The only difference in my recipe is I substitue dark raisins for the dates and pecans for the walnuts (in my family, no other nut besides pecans even exist).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarkerSolace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tullahoma, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2000
lovely fresh orange flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States