Orange Sherbet Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This was so yummy! I left out the pineapple and used 8 oz of Cool Whip instead of sour cream. My grandkids couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
I used sugar free orange gelatin and reduced fat sour cream. I actually made these into freezer pops using dixie cups and popsicle sticks. HOLY FRIJOLES, was this SO. FREAKING. GOOD. All of us were "mmmm-ing" over this dessert, even my husband who swears up and down that he hates "dreamsicles". This is one of the best things I've had in a LONG time. NOTE: To make this a little easier to prepare, if you can soften your sherbet as much as you can without it going completely liquid and beat that in with the soft-set gelatin, then fold in the sour cream and fruit, it turns out a lot better. It dosen't get gross that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This has a nice flavor (sort of like the old orange-cream ice cream bar), but as with another reviewer, mine did not gel well. Only change I made was using sugar-free jello, but it was well-gelled before I beat in the sour cream and sherbet. The instructions were to beat "...until fluffy and well blended." Maybe I overbeat it, but it almost liquified. By the time you add together the costs of three cans of fruit, a pint of sherbet, a container of sour cream, and two packages of jello, this was not an inexpensive dessert to make and then fail. We'll end up drinking this like a smoothie so it won't go to waste, but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Very good! Nice cool and refreshing dessert for warm weather. I did use yogurt instead of sour cream. Topped with whipped cream. Yum! I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This has great flavor but mine did not gel properly either! I made it for a shower I am giving tomorrow so I will have to figure out something else now. Not sure what went wrong...disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe. I made it for Christmas and for a birthday celebration for work. I received many requests for the recipe. It makes for a pretty color too. I used boiling water to dissolve the gelatin. I also used a corningware oval dish and worked well in that too. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Didn't really gel up like it seems like it's supposed to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
Very good. It has an unusual taste with the sour cream, but we really liked it. I have made it several times for different functions and always get praises for it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
This has been a huge hit both times I served it. I've made with and without the pineapple chunks. Absolutely delicious and very refreshing for spring/summer. Thanks, Susan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States