Orange Sherbet Gelatin Mold Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2003
I'm not sure why people had trouble with this setting up. I have not made this one, I use my mom's recipe that is very old. It is: 1 large size jello, 2 cups hot water (no cold water), 1/2 pint orange sherbert or a little more. Jello should be a thick syrupy consistency and then add 1 cup drained mandarin oranges. This fills a small jello mold. I have never ever had problems with this setting up and have made this since I was a child. I really hope this helps, if it doesn't set up, then you didn't add enough sherbert. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Just use two packages of Jello and follow the rest of the recipe & this is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
this is very similar to the recipe i use... i use 3 - 3oz pks gelatin, 2 1/4 C boiling water, 1 quart of orange sherbet, and 1 - 8oz sour cream. i dissolve gelatin, then mix in sour cream, then mix in sherbet. i chill for about 30 min till partially set. then i add the mandarin oranges, then chill over night. its really good. its always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
I made it exactly as the author wrote and had no trouble with it setting up. I'm not sure why some people might. Could altitude have anything to do with it? We had this for special family meals when I was younger. My aunt made this and I still love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
The salad set fine for me. This is fun to make, I think it was one of the first recipes I ever made as a child.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
My mom told me sometimes the jello gets old and won't set up. I wonder if that could be why some people had trouble. It doesn't seem like the kind of thing that would expire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
Tastes delicious however if using the juice from the mandarin oranges use 6 oz size of gelatin. When I used the 3 oz size called for in the recipe it didn't set properly. To save it, I dissolved another package of gelatin in a small amount of hot water and added it to the salad. It then set up properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
This recipe is great! It's become an instant family tradition!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2001
The jello did not set well. It had a good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
I thought that the recipe was good. The kids didn't too much care for it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States