Orange Sauce Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2000
Nice recipe. Not the same old boring chicken. The sauce was a little too sweet for my taste. I would try it again with less sugar. The batter coating was quite thick. Be careful how high your temperature is when you saute the battered chicken. Almonds add a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2000
I loved this recipe and found out that it is just as good as leftovers. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2000
This truly an excellent dish. It is extremely filling. It is a dish you can cook for your family or use to entertain friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2000
This was a really good way to make chicken. The sauce took a little long to cook, but was worth it in the end. My mom thought the sauce was a little too sweet, so adjust the sugar by your own taste. Also note that breading and frying the chicken isn't necessary. I just stuck it in the oven and baked it and it tasted great. Try it with rice and carrots, the sauce tastes good on both of those as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
This was absolutely wonderful -- and a lot better than most orange chicken dishes at a Chinese restaurant! The sauce is spectacular and the breading for the chicken is awesome. I skipped the almonds but added parmesan cheese to the breading. Fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
Pretty good! I only made the sauce (to go over stir-fried chicken and rice) and it was better than a lot of Chinese restaurants that we've been to. My husband loves orange chicken and he thought this was really good. The sauce didn't thicken up much for me, of course this could be operator error, so I'll see what happens the next time I make it. Even though it wasn't thick, the taste was very good. Perhaps a little sweet, like the others said so maybe I'll reduce the sugar just a little bit next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
This recipe is awesome! My husband loved it and my picky 2 year old even ate it up! The sauce thickened up really nicely, maybe a little too thick but it tasted great! I made it with some rice, next time I will try some carrots also. I wasn't too sure about the thick batter on the chicken under the bread crumbs at first but it tasted great. The almonds really added to the taste of the chicken. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
I was looking for an orange sauce recipe, and this one came up in the search. I didn't follow the recipe for the chicken portion, but used the sauce portion and it was delicious. I have served it with salmon; rice; chicken; vegetables. Recipe makes a fairly large quantity, so did my husband and I for a few meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
Usually when lots of reviewers claim something is too sweet I think they're nuts, but I went ahead and put in less sugar than called for and, for the first time I'll say something is too sweet. This is good, and I may make it again, but with lots of modifications. There was too much flour in the batter, I might use orange juice concentrate instead of OJ, less lemon, more salt and ginger... I don't know. The sauce was very sweet, light flavored and unremarkable. It needs work. (P.S.--My bf was much happier with this recipe than I was, calling it delicious.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
my hubby and I LOVE this recipe. We add hot pepper flakes to the sauce to spice it up and it is fabulous !!only complaint is batter is to thick. We add about a half of cup less of flour and it is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Angus, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States