Orange Roughy with Citrus Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I've never had orange roughy before, so was surprised when hubby brought it home...the fish, as directed, was really yummy and flaky. NOT fishy at all! We LOVE citrus sauces and gravies on salmon and chicken - - but this sauce was WAAY too strong on the tart-side. That being said, the next time we make this (which I WILL!) I'll HALF the lemon and lime, and DOUBLE the orange juice, and let it reduce to half. Hubby also likes things spicy, so we added a few drops of habanero sauce w/ mango (Crazy Jerry's Brain Damage - it's awesome!), which added another yummy layer of flavor...I'm sure your favorite hot sauce will do just fine... Anyhow - only 3 stars, cuz I had to mess w the recipe so much...other than that, a total keeper which I'll be making again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSDISH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Coral Gables, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
5 stars for taste but wish the sauce was thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swolfe_2
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This was a good simple recipe. Very easy to make. It didn't make much sauce, so next time I think I'll double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Wow...We did not care for this at all. The sauce overpwered the fish. We followed the recipe exactly and we were very disappointed. My children did not even care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This was a real hit with my family. I took the advice of other reviewers, and used more orange juice than lime juice. The proportions I used were: 3 T orange juice, 2 T lime juice, 1 T lemon juice. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. This was good with couscous and the Green Beans with Walnuts recipe from this site. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Perfectly delicious! I can honestly say that this preparation is one of the best I've ever had of orange roughy. The only addition I made was to add about 1/2 tsp of white sugar to the citrus juices. The fish was fantastic served along side a simple turmeric basmati rice pilaf with dried cranberries and green onions. Soaking the fish in milk before frying took away ALL of the fishy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I gave this recipe four stars because I made a few modifications to the recipe. I didn't have any fresh orange juice, so I used a Tablespoon of frozen orange juice concentrate. I also added 1/2 or 1 tsp (I didn't measure!) of honey because I had read other reviews that said it was too bitter. It took away just a little of that bite from the citrus. It was really good! We used it with some Wild Alaskan Salmon that I seasoned with salt and pepper, seared on high heat, and then finished off in the oven. The citrus complimented the buttery salmon very nicely. I'm going to use the extra sauce over some asparagus tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah
Home Town: Repulse Bay, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong
Living In: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Ugh! This was sooo bitter. If I make again I will lighten up the lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Very good and easy. 2 tablespoons of each juice so not overly tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Rupp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
It was too tart for my family. I thought that it had a great flavor. Love the lime. This may sound strange but I think that a little coconut juice or sweetened shredded coconut would be a great addition. I think I will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States