Orange Rosemary Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I agree with reviewer Sandra, you MUST BOIL THE MARINADE to make it save to use during the cooking process(Think raw chicken juices back on your cooked chicken.) Next time I will make the sauce too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
With a few *minor* tweaks, this is an amazing and easy recipe. First off, I cooked mine in my counter top convection oven...it came out very juicy and tender. As far as the 'tweaks' go, add 2 to 3 spoonfuls of frozen orange juice concentrate and the grated rind of one orange to the marinade. (Or just make orange juice from concentrate with HALF the water it calls for). You can use green onions in place of the chives. After you are finished with the marinade, strain it, add some water to dilute a bit (a cup or so) AND BOIL IT TO MAKE IT SAFE TO EAT! Add chicken bouillon granules and if needed, a bit more water until the taste and amount is to your liking, then thicken with cornstarch. I made this with boneless, skinless breasts exactly according to my tweaks, and served it with Basmati rice (our favorite) and a green salad. This turned out to be a very good and simple-to-make dinner that my whole family loved. Will definitely pass this one on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinole, California, USA
Living In: Florence, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Only gave four stars because I didnt make it exactly as stated. I thickened the marinade (dont worry I brought it to a boil first) with cornstarch and basted it on the meat just before I took it off the grill. Yummy! With out the sauce on it I can see how this might be just a tad bland. Great recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Add the zest of an orange, and the flavor really perks up. Marinate overnight. Make the sauce as recommended by several reviewers. To the cook who asked how to keep the chicken from getting dry: Once it's marinated overnight, don't overcook it! The marinade should keep it moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItalianFoodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aliquippa, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Tasty, but not for those who don't like herbs. When using fresh rosemary, break off a sprig, turn it around (not the way it grows) and run your hand down the length of the sprig to remove the rosemary "needles" from the branch. Quick and easy. Don't use the branch stalk itself because they are too tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Very good for an adult taste. My daughter didn't like it at all. I can see why.My chicken came out kind of dry, though. If anybody has advice on how to keep my chicken from getting dry, please let me know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delaly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
WONDERFUL recipie!!! I changed it just a tad, instead of letting it marinate, low on time, I added the mixture to a pan and threw the chicken in. If you use a good pan (hubby's a chef lol) and throw a top on it the spices will cook into the meat and it's perfect. From there we strained the rosemary and chives and made a rioux to add to the juices. This thickened it perfectly and it went BEAUTIFULLY over rice. Overall, dinner was fantastic tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This was great. Marinated for 3 and 1/2 hrs. and it had plenty of flavor. Used some grated peel too. Served with Jasmine rice and green salad. I would not cook in the broiler in summer again but it was fun to try and did cook 4 full breasts of chicken in 30 minutes even. I lined the baking pan and sprayed with olive oil. In the future I would try grilling or even baking this as the olive oil did a lot of splattering and sparking in the broiler (and I had it 8 inches from the heat). Really tasty, stayed moist! Good recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LpgFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
Delicious! I wasn't sure how the meat would taste with the OJ, but it was perfect. HUbby also loved it, and we'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hubbard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
added orange zest and rubbed an olive oil and garlic blend under the skin (I was bad and fed the hubby skin on chicken..gasp! LOL) otherwise perfect as written. Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseApril

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States