Orange Romaine Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Delicious! I didn't use the oranges or green onion. Instead I tossed it with dried cranberries, almonds and feta. This was quick, easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
This was delicious and very light and refreshing. Maybe a bit too light in flavor. We tripled the green onion to really have the flavor come out, otherwise it would have been a bit bland. But with the additional green onion it was wonderful. We have salad every night with dinner, and this will make a nice addition to our repertoire, especially during the spring and summer months. Edited to add: We've since had this several times in the last month. I still recommend lots of green onion. I've started adding a couple TBSP of orange juice and some orange zest to really bring out the flavor of the dressing. With these changes I'd bump up my rating from a 4 to a 5. We also toss on some flavored almond slivers to complete the salad. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneSweetShannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Endwell, New York, USA
Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
This is a great light salad! I did not have honey so I sub. a Tbsp. of sugar. I added more green onions tot he salad too. This is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANER60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
My husband and I both enjoyed this salad. I followed the recipe. It is very easy to make. I did substitute a can of mandarin oranges for the fresh orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
I could not stop eating this--it was so delicious! I absolutely love the dressing (I used olive oil)--I'll use it for other salads, as well. I squeezed a little bit of orange juice over the salad before serving. Next time, I'll try this with some fresh basil. I also think it would be good with fresh fennel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This was a very refreshing salad. The only alteration I made was reducing the amount of oil to a half cup - swimsuit season is coming soon! It was still delightful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I have been making a similar salad for years and will suggest that you might like to add some toasted Walnuts or toasted slivered Almonds (for crunch). This is an EXCELLENT salad! Jeanne A.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fulton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
So easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minden, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
Super easy, super good salad with a light dressing. Loved the orange pieces and took another reviewer's advice to add some toasted almonds. A nice alternative to a common tossed salad. The leftovers kept fairly well for a second meal. Give this one a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
This was a very good recipe. The whole family cleaned their plates - even the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Hearts of Romaine

Watch Chef John grill lettuce. It’s delicious and ready in a flash!

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States