Orange Romaine Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
A great dish for kids! I used white wine vinegar, virgin olive oil and a teaspoon honey (plenty). My kids also added fresh shredded parmesan (which they add to everything). It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This was really good. I added a little orange juice to the dressing. I had some kiwi so I chopped on up with the orange. My husband isn't much of a salad eater but he eat every bite in his bowl. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I liked this, but the dressing needed more OJ than called for for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brookenelson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Great salad!! I have not been a fan of fruit in my salads, but this changed me. I have tried it with toasted and non-toasted walnuts and did not notice a difference. I also have used white and green onions, and both were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Husband licked the bowl clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This salad has a wonderful freshness to it. If you don't have a reg. orange you can use a mandarin orange. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
We liked this a lot. I had to add more honey, the red wine vinegar was very overpowering (for us). How good your oranges are REALLY makes a big difference in this. If your oranges are crummy and stringy, then your salad is going to be chewy and gross. I used cheapo oranges to start with and then switched them out for canned mandarin oranges later, but in the future I'll probably make this salad when I buy a bag of Clementines (as I often do and then wonder what to do with them all!) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Oh wow, I really liked this. I added chopped lettuce and white sesame seeds, a splash of soy sauce,and replaced the honey with sugar, tasted more Chinese-ish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This salad is very easy to make. I added grapes at the last minute because I thought it needed something a little extra. I also used red onions instead of green which worked well. The dressing was a little bland, I could barely taste the onion. I would recommend not being afraid of upping the ingredient you want to shine through whether that is the honey, onion, or pepper. Or adding more of all of the them wouldn't hurt this dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I really like it and so does my family, very simple and fresh, fresh, fresh!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Hearts of Romaine

Watch Chef John grill lettuce. It’s delicious and ready in a flash!

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States