Orange Romaine Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Great salad!! I have not been a fan of fruit in my salads, but this changed me. I have tried it with toasted and non-toasted walnuts and did not notice a difference. I also have used white and green onions, and both were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Husband licked the bowl clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This salad has a wonderful freshness to it. If you don't have a reg. orange you can use a mandarin orange. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
We liked this a lot. I had to add more honey, the red wine vinegar was very overpowering (for us). How good your oranges are REALLY makes a big difference in this. If your oranges are crummy and stringy, then your salad is going to be chewy and gross. I used cheapo oranges to start with and then switched them out for canned mandarin oranges later, but in the future I'll probably make this salad when I buy a bag of Clementines (as I often do and then wonder what to do with them all!) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Oh wow, I really liked this. I added chopped lettuce and white sesame seeds, a splash of soy sauce,and replaced the honey with sugar, tasted more Chinese-ish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This salad is very easy to make. I added grapes at the last minute because I thought it needed something a little extra. I also used red onions instead of green which worked well. The dressing was a little bland, I could barely taste the onion. I would recommend not being afraid of upping the ingredient you want to shine through whether that is the honey, onion, or pepper. Or adding more of all of the them wouldn't hurt this dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I really like it and so does my family, very simple and fresh, fresh, fresh!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Simple, healthy and delicious. The dressing is especially good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This was a nice fresh tasting salad! I love the fresh orange taste in this salad compared to other salads that use Mandarine oranges which give an atrificial and overly sweet taste. I reduced the oil and used about 1/4 cup olive oil, and I increase the honey to about 3 tbsp. I added some chopped red onion to give this salad a little more color - I will probably take "KymInNM" advice and add some thinly sliced fennel for some extra crunch and flavor next time. Thanx for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I loved this salad and I think that the green onions are the key on this recipe. I added a couple Tbsp of fresh squeezed orange juice and orange zest to the dressing, I also added some almonds and feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Hearts of Romaine

Watch Chef John grill lettuce. It’s delicious and ready in a flash!

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States