Orange Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I loved this rice!! I used 1c. jasmine rice and decreased the oj to 1c and added 3/4c ch. broth w/ the zest. Covered and simmered 15 min. Folded in the manderins then sprinkled toasted slivered almonds and sliced green onions on top. Fantastic. Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squeaky6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cinnaminson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
Great sidedish. We modified it slightly. Being ever health-minded, we used brown rice. This did not affect the outcome at all in my opinion. We doubled the reciped first, put it all in a rice cooker. Checking it every 10 minutes, we had to add more Orange Juice everytime so I would say we put about 1 cup more than the recipe called for ( doubling anyway ) so put 1/2 cup more for a single serving. Took roughly 30 minutes to cook and went great with the Gingered Chicken Breast recipe on this site. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
What a great and easy recipe. I used the liquid from the mandarin oranges to make up some of the liquid. And I added a little dried parsley for color before serving. Very nice dish. Thanks. I served it with Rosemary Chicken with Orange Maple Glaze from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
I loved the taste and the ease of this recipe. I used it with the Orange Rosemary Chicken recipe I found at this sight. I also added sauted onion and celery. I have always gotten compliments when I served this rice dish. I love the mandarin orange pieces in it. That makes it visually appealing as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
This was very tasty and easy to make. I did not have any orange zest so I left it out, but it still tasted great! It took a little longer than 5 minutes for the liquid to absorb and the rice to finish cooking, but I just left it on a few extra minutes and it was fine. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Hartnett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mayfield Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Unfortunately this rice will not be a keeper. Infact, this was last time using instant rice. The long grain enriched kind just taste *so* much better! The mandarins were tasty but the rice was awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole & Ray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
This was fantastic we had it with the tropical pork chops and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
I can only rate this 3 stars because I altered the recipe. I didnt have OJ so I doubled the orange zest and used milk. The rice was creamy and a suble flavor. I think if I made this again I would try with OJ and I would double the servings and still use milk in place of one of the servings of OJ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
this was refreshing.we liked it better cold.kid friendly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
This is a great recipe for kids. Mine couldn't get enough rice because they love mandarin oranges. The citrus flavor still wasn't as strong as I would like. Next time I will substitute orange juice for the pineapple juice and add lemon zest in addition to the orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States