Orange Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
This was very tasty and easy to make. I did not have any orange zest so I left it out, but it still tasted great! It took a little longer than 5 minutes for the liquid to absorb and the rice to finish cooking, but I just left it on a few extra minutes and it was fine. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mayfield Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
I loved the taste and the ease of this recipe. I used it with the Orange Rosemary Chicken recipe I found at this sight. I also added sauted onion and celery. I have always gotten compliments when I served this rice dish. I love the mandarin orange pieces in it. That makes it visually appealing as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
This is a great recipe for kids. Mine couldn't get enough rice because they love mandarin oranges. The citrus flavor still wasn't as strong as I would like. Next time I will substitute orange juice for the pineapple juice and add lemon zest in addition to the orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
this was refreshing.we liked it better cold.kid friendly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2004
It did not have much flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
Excellent. Even my toddler loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Congers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
I can only rate this 3 stars because I altered the recipe. I didnt have OJ so I doubled the orange zest and used milk. The rice was creamy and a suble flavor. I think if I made this again I would try with OJ and I would double the servings and still use milk in place of one of the servings of OJ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
This recipe had a nice orange flavor, but I thought it was just a little bland. (I didn't have any orange zest so I left it out -- if I'd included it, it probably would have had a more pronounced flavor.) Since I was serving it with chicken, I added some powdered chicken bouillon, and that helped. I think if I make this again, I'll try adding an herb that goes well with citrus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
Great sidedish. We modified it slightly. Being ever health-minded, we used brown rice. This did not affect the outcome at all in my opinion. We doubled the reciped first, put it all in a rice cooker. Checking it every 10 minutes, we had to add more Orange Juice everytime so I would say we put about 1 cup more than the recipe called for ( doubling anyway ) so put 1/2 cup more for a single serving. Took roughly 30 minutes to cook and went great with the Gingered Chicken Breast recipe on this site. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I wish there were 10 stars. This is the best recipe I have ever found for instant rice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States