Orange Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I loved this rice!! I used 1c. jasmine rice and decreased the oj to 1c and added 3/4c ch. broth w/ the zest. Covered and simmered 15 min. Folded in the manderins then sprinkled toasted slivered almonds and sliced green onions on top. Fantastic. Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squeaky6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cinnaminson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
What a great and easy recipe. I used the liquid from the mandarin oranges to make up some of the liquid. And I added a little dried parsley for color before serving. Very nice dish. Thanks. I served it with Rosemary Chicken with Orange Maple Glaze from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
This was a nice change for a side dish. It was good served with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
The ingredients of this recipe sounded so good, I had to try it. Unfortunately, both my husband and I have problems with orange juice souring on our stomachs. This did, too. It was very tasty, and I love mandarins. It's just that darn old orange juice! I might try it without the orange juice, and just adding the mandarins and some almonds. For those of you that can handle the juice, go for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Clyde, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I wish there were 10 stars. This is the best recipe I have ever found for instant rice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
Great sidedish. We modified it slightly. Being ever health-minded, we used brown rice. This did not affect the outcome at all in my opinion. We doubled the reciped first, put it all in a rice cooker. Checking it every 10 minutes, we had to add more Orange Juice everytime so I would say we put about 1 cup more than the recipe called for ( doubling anyway ) so put 1/2 cup more for a single serving. Took roughly 30 minutes to cook and went great with the Gingered Chicken Breast recipe on this site. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
This recipe had a nice orange flavor, but I thought it was just a little bland. (I didn't have any orange zest so I left it out -- if I'd included it, it probably would have had a more pronounced flavor.) Since I was serving it with chicken, I added some powdered chicken bouillon, and that helped. I think if I make this again, I'll try adding an herb that goes well with citrus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
I can only rate this 3 stars because I altered the recipe. I didnt have OJ so I doubled the orange zest and used milk. The rice was creamy and a suble flavor. I think if I made this again I would try with OJ and I would double the servings and still use milk in place of one of the servings of OJ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
Excellent. Even my toddler loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Congers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2004
It did not have much flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States