Orange Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I adapted this to non-instant long-grain rice like so: fried the orange zest in butter with half an onion and a garlic clove, then cooked one cup of rice in one cup of orange juice and one cup of water (plus salt to taste). Didn't add any mandarin segments. The rice had a pale yellow colour and obvious citrusy taste, but was still savoury. Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
We enjoyed this recipe very much! I used brown rice instead of instant and added some salt. Otherwise I wouldn't change a thing although I would cut the oranges in 3rds next time so they're not so chunky. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
My family and I LOVED this rice. I was making shishkabobs with pineapple and cherries and could not think of anything to have with it. I came across this recipe, and was a little leery, just because it sounded weird...but it was GREAT! I do not like minute rice, so I used long grain organic rice, and I put it in my rice cooker. I put the Orange Juice, Orange Zest (and a teaspoon lemon zest), and melted butter in the rice cooker, mixed it up real good, then put the rice in and let it do its thing. When the rice was almost done I noticed it needed a little more liquid so I added some Mandarin and Pineapple juice to it. Once it was done, I let the rice cool a bit, and then added the Mandarins to the mixture (more then what was called for, but my son LOVES them). Everyone had 2 helpings, and I couldnt believe it. Rice is not a big deal in my house, but this rice was!! Thank you!! It was SO SO GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentone, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I just found this and love it! I more mango juice then orange. I think I will like it better as it cools down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Unfortunately this rice will not be a keeper. Infact, this was last time using instant rice. The long grain enriched kind just taste *so* much better! The mandarins were tasty but the rice was awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole & Ray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
A little too tangy and sweet but with some adjustments this could be a hit... I made it according to the recipe except for substituting regular brown rice and omitting the butter. Next time I will reduce the OJ to 3/4C and add some garlic and chives to make it more savory. I will also omit mixing in the mandarins and just top the rice with 1/3 of the mandarins. Best served with something simple like grilled chicken so there's not a lot of sauce or clash in flavors with the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I made as directed and served with boneless porkchops / sprinkled with hot pepper flakes. will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
This dish was not to my taste. I prefer orange flavor in sweet dishes, not in savory ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
This was fantastic we had it with the tropical pork chops and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I loved this rice!! I used 1c. jasmine rice and decreased the oj to 1c and added 3/4c ch. broth w/ the zest. Covered and simmered 15 min. Folded in the manderins then sprinkled toasted slivered almonds and sliced green onions on top. Fantastic. Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squeaky6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cinnaminson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States