Orange Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I think this is the best rice recipe that I have made from this site. People have complained about it not having a lot of flavor, but I appreciate the subtleness that the orange and celery give the rice. Tonight I used this as a side dish for some salmon, but I could easily picture making this as a light main dish for a hot summertime evening. Just add some chicken or shrimp and it would be very filling. Thank you for the recipe, Joyce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This rice was very good! I made some changes as suggested by other reviewers. I added 2 chicken boullion cubes to the water, and 1 T of apricot jam (I would have used orange marmalade if I had it.) I also added some lime zest for more citrus flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Alstott Postel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This was very yummy and a winner with my picky husband. After reading reviews, "that it was good, but bland"---I decided to add extra grated orange, onion, a dash of ginger and some italian herb spice I had. It was a organic version of a Mrs. Dash. My husband gave me the go ahead to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I was looking for quick rice pilaf recipe so I tried this one. I did not use instant rice because I have a rice cooker so after cooking the rice in my rice cooker I added the celery mixture to the rice.Only changes I made was not to add the water because rice was prepared in a rice cooker and added pepper,basil and parsley. Not a bad recipe but does need some more spice. I liked the orange flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I liked the taste of the orange and rice, I too made it with the Orange Marmalade and Ginger glazed Pork loin from this site. Instead of instant rice we used Jasmine rice and substituted half the water usually used for making rice with orange juice (lots of Pulp) and the family really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Only giving three stars because I changed it quite a bit. I left out the celery and used a bit of celery salt instead. Since there was no celery, I didn't need as much margarine, so I only used enough to soften up the onions. I used about 3/4 cup of OJ and then used water to make up the difference. I also added mandarin orange bits to the water after I took it off of the heat and mixed in my rice. A little salt and pepper to taste before serving and that was that. I served it along side baked tilapia w/ a pineapple/tangerine salsa and fresh green beans. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Cooked w/uncooked rice, followed directions, came out bland and burned/hard (not enough water in the ingredients for the rice + celery mix) . Orange was there but not enough. Not fluffy or tasty. Felt it needed something more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole & Ray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
My very first thought was a little bland. I liked how the orange flavor was not over powering (it might need a little more orange flavor though). I really liked the after taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gregory, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
This side dish was very good, not at all bland. I used Uncle Ben's Ready Rice that takes 90 seconds in the microwave, so no need for the water. I sauteed half the amount of celery and used 1/4 c. of green onion I then mixed that in with the rice in a bowl. I then added the salt and orange juice along with some fresh sqeezed orange juice and some cut up fresh orange segments. All that was needed was a few dashes of cracked black pepper! It had a very nice citrus taste that went great with pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This recipe is very flavorful, but I made a few changes. First, I cooked the celery and onion in the butter and added minute rice until it was golden. Then I added the wet ingredients, and instead of using OJ and zest, I added 3 rounding TB of Orange Marmalade! It was Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States