Orange Raisin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
I made this recipe with approx. 1/3 wheat flour, and used the juice from the orange I zested. The raisins added that needed sweetness to make this yummy. Also, my batter was a little THICK so I bumped the temp down to 375. Maybe that's also why mine were chewier. Mine did turn out a little 'heathy tasting' - but it was my own doing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
I really liked this recipie, it was really easy and it was fairly quick to... i also tryed crasins instead of rasins and they turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Excellent! These are delicious muffins. If you would like additional orange flavoring, use ¼ cup of defrosted, undiluted orange juice concentrate (from frozen orange juice) instead of just plain orange juice. I also used golden raisins. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
Wonderful!! Flaky & light. I used craisins and added about a 1/4 cup of crushed pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
I tweaked it by using honey instead of sugar, zested a whole orange, then juiced it, which was about 1/3 cup. I used milk to make up the difference between the 1/2 c milk and 1/4 cup oj. (Juice the orange and put it in a measuring cup then fill the rest up to 3/4 cup with milk.) I topped the muffins with chunky turbinado sugar...yummmy. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2001
Really delicious and a wonderful orange taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
This recipe is great. Simple and easy to make--just the right sweetness. That said, I did not use the orange zest and I used dried cranberries instead of raisins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
Great recipe just as it is. Love the orange flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
I added pecans, 1/2 ts pumpkin pie spice and 1/2 ts nutmeg. I dusted the tops of the muffins with a little cinnamon before I cooked them. These were great. I might try next time to soak my raison in the OJ for a while (if I have the time) or use cranberries. The thing about the muffins that I liked was that they were not so much sweet but more spicy. More attitude than a normal muffin. My neighbor keeps asking me for this recipe 4 weeks after I dropped some over at her house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diana
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Great muffins! Except that I think I'll need to add more orange zest (another tablespoon) ... I just love the smell of baked orange zests...I put 1/2 cup sugar and kind of regreted it... the muffins weren't too sweet and i would have like it sweeter... will put as per recipe next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States