Orange Raisin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I used thawed frozen orange juice concentrate (NOT watered down) for more orange flavor. I also used soured lactose-free milk. I baked my muffins at 350 for just under 20 minutes. They smelled amazing and looked just like they should--I don't think there was enough liquid in this recipe, these turned out dry for me. I'd try these again but I'd add a quarter cup more of orange juice or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Excellent! These are delicious muffins. If you would like additional orange flavoring, use ¼ cup of defrosted, undiluted orange juice concentrate (from frozen orange juice) instead of just plain orange juice. I also used golden raisins. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
I tweaked it by using honey instead of sugar, zested a whole orange, then juiced it, which was about 1/3 cup. I used milk to make up the difference between the 1/2 c milk and 1/4 cup oj. (Juice the orange and put it in a measuring cup then fill the rest up to 3/4 cup with milk.) I topped the muffins with chunky turbinado sugar...yummmy. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
i just made these muffins this afternoon everybody loved it! i use fresh orange juice, soak the raisins in warm water first so they are nice and moist thank you for this lovely recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
I really liked this recipie, it was really easy and it was fairly quick to... i also tryed crasins instead of rasins and they turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Made them yesterday. I didn't have milk, so I used 1/4 cup half-half and more orange juice to make up for the milk. This resulted in a more intense orange taste, which everybody liked. I also added 1/2 cup dried figs, which gave a bit more sweetness to the muffins. The only problem was the oven temperature. After 20 minutes at 400F, the muffins were burnt on the bottom. I will try 375 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
Wonderful!! Flaky & light. I used craisins and added about a 1/4 cup of crushed pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Love the flavor in these muffins and find, like other suggested, that dried cranberries do compliment the orange. Have substitute frozen orange juice (thawed) which gives them a deeper flavor. Depends on your taste.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
First muffins I ever made and they turned out PERFECT! I added candied orange instead of raisins and half a teaspoon fresh ginger (those were just in my cupboard), so I guess there's plenty room for improvisation! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kailey W.
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Incredible ! I just pulled them out of the oven and I'm having on right now... absolutely perfect consistency/texture. I made some changes ONLY because I didn't have any oranges, just orange juice, and I only had a TBSP of sugar left... so I added dates, cranberries, golden raisins. Instead of sugar, about 2 TBSP honey, and only 1 TBSP sugar, a little vanilla & almond extract (I never measure sorry :/) and maybe 2 tbsp extra orange juice. Topped them with cranberries or granola made from 1/4 c quick cook oats, 1tbsp brown sugar, 1tbsp butter, & dash of orange juice. SO GOOD!!! I will definitely be using this as a base recipe for future muffins, THANKS! :):):)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kailey W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Streamwood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States