Orange Raisin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I used thawed frozen orange juice concentrate (NOT watered down) for more orange flavor. I also used soured lactose-free milk. I baked my muffins at 350 for just under 20 minutes. They smelled amazing and looked just like they should--I don't think there was enough liquid in this recipe, these turned out dry for me. I'd try these again but I'd add a quarter cup more of orange juice or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
I tweaked it by using honey instead of sugar, zested a whole orange, then juiced it, which was about 1/3 cup. I used milk to make up the difference between the 1/2 c milk and 1/4 cup oj. (Juice the orange and put it in a measuring cup then fill the rest up to 3/4 cup with milk.) I topped the muffins with chunky turbinado sugar...yummmy. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Excellent! These are delicious muffins. If you would like additional orange flavoring, use ¼ cup of defrosted, undiluted orange juice concentrate (from frozen orange juice) instead of just plain orange juice. I also used golden raisins. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
I really liked this recipie, it was really easy and it was fairly quick to... i also tryed crasins instead of rasins and they turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Made them yesterday. I didn't have milk, so I used 1/4 cup half-half and more orange juice to make up for the milk. This resulted in a more intense orange taste, which everybody liked. I also added 1/2 cup dried figs, which gave a bit more sweetness to the muffins. The only problem was the oven temperature. After 20 minutes at 400F, the muffins were burnt on the bottom. I will try 375 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
i just made these muffins this afternoon everybody loved it! i use fresh orange juice, soak the raisins in warm water first so they are nice and moist thank you for this lovely recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
Wonderful!! Flaky & light. I used craisins and added about a 1/4 cup of crushed pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
First muffins I ever made and they turned out PERFECT! I added candied orange instead of raisins and half a teaspoon fresh ginger (those were just in my cupboard), so I guess there's plenty room for improvisation! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Nice texture, ok taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Love the flavor in these muffins and find, like other suggested, that dried cranberries do compliment the orange. Have substitute frozen orange juice (thawed) which gives them a deeper flavor. Depends on your taste.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States