Orange Raisin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Easy to make - seemed a little dry to me like something was missing?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I made these exatly as the recipe is written, the only exception is that I didn't have an orange to zest. These are not very good. They taste like slightly sweetened white bread with raisins, they do not have a muffin texture at all. I will not be making these again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maumee, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Made them yesterday. I didn't have milk, so I used 1/4 cup half-half and more orange juice to make up for the milk. This resulted in a more intense orange taste, which everybody liked. I also added 1/2 cup dried figs, which gave a bit more sweetness to the muffins. The only problem was the oven temperature. After 20 minutes at 400F, the muffins were burnt on the bottom. I will try 375 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
First muffins I ever made and they turned out PERFECT! I added candied orange instead of raisins and half a teaspoon fresh ginger (those were just in my cupboard), so I guess there's plenty room for improvisation! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kailey W.
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Incredible ! I just pulled them out of the oven and I'm having on right now... absolutely perfect consistency/texture. I made some changes ONLY because I didn't have any oranges, just orange juice, and I only had a TBSP of sugar left... so I added dates, cranberries, golden raisins. Instead of sugar, about 2 TBSP honey, and only 1 TBSP sugar, a little vanilla & almond extract (I never measure sorry :/) and maybe 2 tbsp extra orange juice. Topped them with cranberries or granola made from 1/4 c quick cook oats, 1tbsp brown sugar, 1tbsp butter, & dash of orange juice. SO GOOD!!! I will definitely be using this as a base recipe for future muffins, THANKS! :):):)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kailey W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Streamwood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
i just made these muffins this afternoon everybody loved it! i use fresh orange juice, soak the raisins in warm water first so they are nice and moist thank you for this lovely recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
I tweaked it by using honey instead of sugar, zested a whole orange, then juiced it, which was about 1/3 cup. I used milk to make up the difference between the 1/2 c milk and 1/4 cup oj. (Juice the orange and put it in a measuring cup then fill the rest up to 3/4 cup with milk.) I topped the muffins with chunky turbinado sugar...yummmy. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diana
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Great muffins! Except that I think I'll need to add more orange zest (another tablespoon) ... I just love the smell of baked orange zests...I put 1/2 cup sugar and kind of regreted it... the muffins weren't too sweet and i would have like it sweeter... will put as per recipe next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This recipe is really dependent on the raisins for its sweetness. If you don't get a bite with some fruit, they are bland. To health it up a little, I replaced 1/3 of the flour with whole wheat and replaced the oil with applesauce - didn't like the flavor much, but my toddler ate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natalie
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
I added pecans, 1/2 ts pumpkin pie spice and 1/2 ts nutmeg. I dusted the tops of the muffins with a little cinnamon before I cooked them. These were great. I might try next time to soak my raison in the OJ for a while (if I have the time) or use cranberries. The thing about the muffins that I liked was that they were not so much sweet but more spicy. More attitude than a normal muffin. My neighbor keeps asking me for this recipe 4 weeks after I dropped some over at her house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States