Orange Pumpkin Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Fabulous recipe!!! Just perfect. Moist and all the smells and flavors of Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joycie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I didn't care for this very much, but I think it was just personal prefrence. I might make again, but I would just use the inside of the orange and zest it. The orange peices were a little too hard for my taste. But otherwise it would have been very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
My husband loved this Orange Pumpkin bread that he ate half the loaf as soon as it was cool enough to cut. Thanks for sharing. I'll make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Yum! I used a blender to mash the orange and added the 1/3 cup of water to help it along - that seemed to work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catty96

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This is the ultimate pumpkin bread! Everyone who sampled it was won over on first taste! The combination of flavors is genius - don't change a thing the first time you make it. The spices are perfectly balanced - I'm not crazy about cloves, but follow the recipe and you will see what I mean... And always bake an item until it is done - ovens can vary so much that it is usually not possible to say exactly how many minutes to bake something. Learn how to test by touch and using a cake tester, as well as by how the sides shrink from the pan, and you will find the perfect time for your oven. You MUST try the loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This is an extraordinary bread. The first time I made it I grated the outer orange peel and then put in the orange sections thinking if I used the whole orange it would be too bitter. The next time I followed the directions using the whole orange and the difference was remarkable. So follow the directions! I did try different nuts as I had hazelnuts on hand and I prefer them to the walnuts. I also used craisins because I had them and thought they would go well with the orange. I used fresh cooked squash instead of canned and I had to eliminate the water because my squash was a bit watery- so beware if you go that route. This is a wonderful recipe- my husband and I eat it for breakfast, afternoon and late evening snack. Can't get enough. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksburg, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Placitas, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
This was delicious. I made it just as it was written and I won't change a thing in the future. I might mix up the type of nuts or change the raisins to dates just to try it, but it was delicious as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Amazing bread, definitely puts you in the holiday mood. Mine turned out very heavy and moist. Might have been because I used 3 small satsumas instead of 1 lg orange and there's was too much juice that way. I substituted craisins for nuts since my son has a nut allergy. Recipe made too much for my loaf pan. Next time I'll put some into muffin tins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This is a very good recipe. It's incredibly moist. The orange flavor was a little to stong for me, so next time I won't put as much in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Big Bear City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
I thoroughly liked this recipe. I had no problem with the slight bitterness from the whole orange rind (as I don't like things that are overly sweet) nor did I have a problem with the overpowering orange taste (as I like the orange taste better than the pumpkin taste and am still getting the benefit of the beta-carotene). I used cooked fresh pumpkin rather than canned and baked the loaf 1 hour and 20 minutes because of the many people who complained of the loaf seeming to come out underbaked. Mine came out perfectly. I'm saving this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States