Orange Pumpkin Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I made this vegan style. Used canola oil in place of butter, omitted eggs (substituted with a tbs extra oil and 1/4 water). Bread was very moist. Did not have raisins or walnuts (these would add more texture to the bread). There was a little too much clove flavor for my liking-next time I would use half as much (maybe replace half with Nutmeg?) All in all pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Instead of raisins I did craisins because I had them on hand. It smelled wonderful and people loved it. Although I felt it had too much flavor to it. It was a huge hit with those I gave it to for Christmas gifts though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess_caleb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Cannon Beach, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I was curious how using a whole orange would work so I made this. I do not like cloves so I changed up the spices 1 teaspoon of cinnamon 1/2 teaspoon of ginger, 1 teaspoon vanilla. It came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Soooooo moist and yummy! We chowed through 3/4 of the loaf before it was even cooled off! Even my extremely picky five-year old loved it! My tweaks: I did 1c all-purpose flour & 1c whole wheat flour. I completely forgot to add the nuts & raisins. And I substituted 1 tsp of pumpkin pie spice for the cinnamon & cloves. I think it could use a touch more spice (because I LOVE these spices), so I'll probably increase it to 1.5 tsp next time. And my orange was kinda small, so I think I'll use 1.5 small oranges. Thanks for this wonderful recipe! I will be giving a couple loaves as gifts for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I saw Sarah Jo's review and decided to use fresh cranberries (I bought several bags on clearance after Thanksgiving). I love the combo of orange/cranberry. I pulsed it in my food processor after doing the orange. My orange was probably only medium sized, but very juicy and delish. I subbed 1 cup of Whole Wheat Pastry flour for 1 cup of All Purpose. I used my homemade pumpkin pie spice (it has a touch of cardamom in it, makes it so good!). Less walnuts, only because I didn't have many, and left out the raisins. I baked it in my pampered chef mini loaf stone. Delish, moist and bursting with flavor! Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I used a large Clementine in this recipe. I made muffins out of this recipe as well. I only made two small changes in this recipe and that was using 1 1/2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice instead of the individual spices and I used pecans instead of walnuts, as we do not like walnuts. I got 18 medium sized muffins out of one recipe. I baked them at 350* for exactly 20 minutes. I have to say that the orange and pumpkin combined is just amazing. I love it. I think using the whole clementine is absolutely genius. I would have never thought of it. It's one of the moistest muffins I've ever had and the sweetness is just where it should be. My one issue is that it dosen't have enough "stuff". For me, this needs more raisins. Next time, I'll double the amount of raisins. I think this would be EXCELLENT with chopped fresh cranberries, too. I'm quite impressed with the use of the whole orange. Very smart. It's great now, I can only imagine how good it will be tomorrow after it sits overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I made this exactly to the recipe (except doubled for 2 loaves). I was nervous about the whole orange (peel and everything) and I was right. My husband and I had such a strong taste of the bitter part of the peel that it overshadowed the rest of the taste, which was good. I might try this again, but instead of using the peel I would zest the orange and then use the peeled orange in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHANIE LEANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Delish! I added Craisins instead of raisins. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Delicious! Note that the dominant flavour is orange, not pumpkin. I made it exactly as the recipe states, except mine took about 75 mins to cook. Next time I'll line my pan in parchment paper because the bottom stuck. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobolynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
My favorite breakfast bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbslips

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States