Orange Pull-Aparts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
These were good hot out of the oven, but not after they cooled. Became hard...hmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: May 18, 2005
I made it for mother's day breakfast and my mom was very impressed. Dividing the dough into equal portions by using a scale really pays off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2000
Orange Pull Aparts are amazing! I can't keep up with the demand now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wannabe Virtuous Woman
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Rating is based on my 1st attempt as the recipe stated. I decided to give it one more shot, using my experience to guide me, & was not disappointed. I made these using all WHITE whole wheat flour& 2T "vital wheat gluten". I have found from many years of baking w/ww flour that almost any yeast bread recipe that uses egg (i.e. challah, rolls etc.) will convert cup for cup from white to wheat & still be light/fluffy, others may need tweaking, or the addition of some white flour. The dough was still quite wet so I added a more flour (1/4c). I used smart balance oil instead of butter in both parts of the recipe (butter was frozen, didn't feel it was worth the trouble for such a smll amt). I didn't worry about this in the bread part, since I always use oil in lieu of butter in my yeast breads, but was concerned if it would affect taste for the dipping part, it didn't (only need 2-3T oil for dipping). I used 2T honey for the sugar in the bread part of the recipe (something else I always do, dealing w/whole wheat breads; the honey/oil combo keep my wheat breads nice and moist), but I still used (BRWN)sugar for dipping (doubled this amt to 6T; the 1st time I made this 3 wasn't enough). Made the pieces smaller this time (35-40 instead of 20) because w/my whole wheat monkey bread, I find it this gives each bite flavor, or else some bites just taste like bread. I let it rise on the counter for 35min, then covered, put in fridge until am. Only took about 20-22 min,so watch your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Virtuous Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Not worth making again! I ran into a few problems with the recipe. First, after it went through the dough cycle the dough was too wet to form into balls. It was such a MESS and has to be the stickiest dough I have ever worked with. I had no choice but to add a little flour to get it to hold ANY shape. I added some flour and worked it in just trying to salvage it. As another reviewer stated, there was too much butter and not enough sugar to roll the balls in. You probably need about half the amount of butter and twice the amount of sugar. And lastly, there was not enough orange juice listed for the glaze. After mixing the powdered sugar and the orange juice it was still powder-y. The presentation was very pretty. It had a litte hint of orange, but not enough sweetness. The texture was off but I'm sure that had something to do with me having to add flour after the dough cycle. I think the concept is a great one but this recipe needs a lot of tweaking! I was really hopeful, having orange trees and wanting ways to use the bounty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
This was delicous! I have a group of SAHM who come over once a week for coffee and a pastry for breakfast. This was an instant hit (note, I made these the night before, because they do take some time) I store them in a empty coffee can, lined with tin foil (my grandmother's trick) and they were soft and fresh the next morning. I plan to make up several of these, and freeze them for the coming holiday season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs_Mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Delicious! My two year old and four year old had fun helping me roll up the little balls of dough. I subbed out 1 cup of white flour for whole wheat and used a mixture of brown sugar and cinnamon to roll the little balls of dough in. I also added orange rind to the glaze. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I made this when I had friends round for coffee. I didn't use the glaze. I also used a brown sugar and cinnamon mix to dip the dough in instead of white sugar. My friends really enjoyed this. Many Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2000
A very nice recipe. Now it's been husband approved too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
These were nice and light. We're not big icing fans so we left it off, but there wasn't enough sugar in the dough for our taste. I'll definately make them again and just add more sugar. I was making this for breakfast, so I prepared it the night before and left it in the bundt pan to rise overnight in the fridge, covered in plastic wrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Orange Glorious I

Homemade, yet reminiscent of a famous orange smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States