Orange Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
This recipe has wonderful Asian flavor but I added some ingredients and made some tiny adjustments and it went from good to terrific very quickly. That's the beauty of allrecipe.com's Review/Rating Section; you get to share helpful ideas that can make a recipe shine. My changes, #1 Instead of using the chops whole, I sliced them into thin strips.You could also dice the meat. I dredged the pieces in seasoned flour and fried in hot peanut oil until golden brown. #2 I used brown sugar (big improvement) #3 I always use Kikoman Soy Sauce for its unique flavor. #4 I added a piece of fresh ginger and two cloves of garlic, diced. #5 I used a potato peeler and shredded a large carrot & added that near the end. #6 I added chicken broth to the fry pan and let it thicken, which it did beautifully. After scraping all of the tasty brown bits I returned the meat to the pan. #7 At the very end I threw in frozen brocolli. Don't get me wrong, Fireball provided a great recipe but my family found the additions made for a better dish. Another possibility is to add cayenne or hot sauce. This tasted exactly like Kung Pao Pork but without the peanuts which we don't like anyway. The added vegtables can include anything from greenbeans to bok choy to cauliflower. The sauce was a deep orange/brown and it I would be proud to serve it again.Thank you, fireball and allrecipes.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
302 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZ5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
Simple and tasty. I did cut my boneless pork loin chops in small cubes and dredged in flour before stir frying, for a yummy light coating. I substituted peanut oil for oil, and brown sugar for the white. Also I cut back a bit on the soy sauce and increased the OJ accordingly. I let it simmer gently until the pork was tender. Served over oriental rice noodles with steamed broccoli. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
Ohmigosh!! This was really good! Of course, I used some of the suggestions of other reviewers. I almost never make a recipe as written. I dredged my thin chops in flour, browned in olive oil and removed to a plate. Then, in the oil in the pan, I sauteed two minced garlic cloves and green onions (6) sliced on the diagonal. Used brown sugar instead of white. Before adding cornstarch mixture, I shredded one whole carrot into sauce mixture. After thickening the sauce, I added one 6-ounce can of mandarin oranges and returned pork to pan. Oh, by the way, I mixed cornstarch with the juice from mandarin orange can instead of water. I doubled the sauce ingredients except the soy sauce. Served over white rice and passed crushed red pepper at the table. This was awesome! Can't wait to try it with chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOLFANCHICK1027

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
I also made it into a stirfry, added four cloves minced garlic, broccoli, and juilenned carrots. Served it with brown rice, very good, kids loved. Will definatly make this again,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
I doubled the sauce, try it on rice! YUMMY! I couldn't get enough of the sauce on the pork! More teryaki flavored than orange but still AWESOME! I'm going to do this with chicken breast just to try it out! This is a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
This didn't blow anyone away, but it was a solidly good meal. I thought the sauce needed something else, so I added a bunch of red pepper flakes, garlic, and black pepper. That helped quite a bit. I sliced the pork before cooking and served it all with rice and broccoli. Edited to add: I tried this again with the suggestions of other people, and it was much better. Dice the pork, toss in a mixture of flour and black pepper, fry in oil, then coat with sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
* Definitely double the sauce. I had to cook longer because I had extra thick pork chops. Next time, I would cut the soy sauce in half and replace with extra OJ. My daughter did not like it because it tasted like teriyaki. I don't like teriyaki, but I liked it. My husband said it was good, but a bit to salty. Serve with rice. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
We loved this, everyone from my husband, my 5yo, 3yo, and 1yo! I doubled the sauce and served with buttered white rice & steamed broccoli - very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
great alternative to pork chops and mushroom sauce!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTOWNJULIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Cajon, California, USA
Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
This was pretty good. A little salty, even though I used reduced-sodium soy sauce. It thickened up right away when I added the corn starch, so that was good. I enjoyed the orange flavor. I added ground giner, garlic powder, and black pepper to the pork chops as they were browning. Served with steamed broccoli and brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States