Orange Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
I doubled the sauce, try it on rice! YUMMY! I couldn't get enough of the sauce on the pork! More teryaki flavored than orange but still AWESOME! I'm going to do this with chicken breast just to try it out! This is a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
* Definitely double the sauce. I had to cook longer because I had extra thick pork chops. Next time, I would cut the soy sauce in half and replace with extra OJ. My daughter did not like it because it tasted like teriyaki. I don't like teriyaki, but I liked it. My husband said it was good, but a bit to salty. Serve with rice. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
My husband and I didn't care for this. It wasn't bad, it just wasn't good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
This recipe has wonderful Asian flavor but I added some ingredients and made some tiny adjustments and it went from good to terrific very quickly. That's the beauty of allrecipe.com's Review/Rating Section; you get to share helpful ideas that can make a recipe shine. My changes, #1 Instead of using the chops whole, I sliced them into thin strips.You could also dice the meat. I dredged the pieces in seasoned flour and fried in hot peanut oil until golden brown. #2 I used brown sugar (big improvement) #3 I always use Kikoman Soy Sauce for its unique flavor. #4 I added a piece of fresh ginger and two cloves of garlic, diced. #5 I used a potato peeler and shredded a large carrot & added that near the end. #6 I added chicken broth to the fry pan and let it thicken, which it did beautifully. After scraping all of the tasty brown bits I returned the meat to the pan. #7 At the very end I threw in frozen brocolli. Don't get me wrong, Fireball provided a great recipe but my family found the additions made for a better dish. Another possibility is to add cayenne or hot sauce. This tasted exactly like Kung Pao Pork but without the peanuts which we don't like anyway. The added vegtables can include anything from greenbeans to bok choy to cauliflower. The sauce was a deep orange/brown and it I would be proud to serve it again.Thank you, fireball and allrecipes.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
302 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZ5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
I also made it into a stirfry, added four cloves minced garlic, broccoli, and juilenned carrots. Served it with brown rice, very good, kids loved. Will definatly make this again,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
great alternative to pork chops and mushroom sauce!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTOWNJULIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Cajon, California, USA
Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
Simple and tasty. I did cut my boneless pork loin chops in small cubes and dredged in flour before stir frying, for a yummy light coating. I substituted peanut oil for oil, and brown sugar for the white. Also I cut back a bit on the soy sauce and increased the OJ accordingly. I let it simmer gently until the pork was tender. Served over oriental rice noodles with steamed broccoli. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
Excellent and very quick. Of course I tinkered a bit. I used thinly sliced pork tenderloin instead of Pork Chops. I didn't have orange juice so I used low salt chicken broth and a tablespoon of Grande Marnier for the orange flavour. And I coated the pork tenderloin slices in about a tablespoon of cornstarch mixed with garlic salt. Also cut the soy sauce to 3 T instead of 4. Served it over lighly steamed carrot slices and broccoli and basmati rice and it was just wonderful. The whole dinner took about 20 minutes to prepare. It actually didn't smell that great while cooking (the Grand Marnier smelled overpowering), but it tasted WONDERFUL. My husband and I loved it. If I were cooking for more, I would double the sauce, though. Thanks for the great recipe base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
Wanting to try something different from barbecue I tried this recipe. I took the advice of others doubled the sauce and used brown sugar, name brand soy sauce added the broccoli. The mid range score is more a reflection of taste and texture of the sauce, which was strong on soy and texture was grainy despite throwing out the first batch and even cooking the second batch longer. I won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
This was wonderful. I doubled the sauce and I cut the pork into long thin strips. I served over rice and the whole family loved it!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States