Orange Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
My boyfriend and I loved this recipe! I did make a couple of minor changes though: I marinated the pork in orange juice for about an hour and then barbecued it and made the gravy separately in a pot. That way the pork still had the yummy orange flavor but my boyfriend also got to use his bbq. I also would recommend using the low sodium soy sauce, as others have suggested. We didn't and it was quite salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
The whole family absolutely loved this. The only thing my husband suggested was using low sodium soy sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This did not taste good to me. I even added some green onion and garlic as other reviewers suggested. The taste was not worth the effort. My kids did not like it either. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
My husband and I thought this was delicious, I should have served it with noodles, and will the next time. Also broccoli goes well with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
These chops were outstanding and every bite was gone. The only change to the sauce was that I doubled the orange juice and added two cloves of crushed garlic. I thickened the sauce a little bit with a small amount of flour. I served the chops over rice. We will definitely have this again. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
We loved this! Like many other reviewers, I followed the suggestions of LIZ5 for the stir-fry and used low-sodium soy sauce. I used homemade chicken broth which cut both the saltiness of the soy and mellowed the impact of the orange juice, but it worked for us. (I added 2 1/3 c broth and ended up adding 1 T cornstarch mixed with 2 T water to thicken. The flour wasn't enough on it's own to thicken that much liquid) Did add 2 cloves fresh minced garlic, but had to use ground ginger (1/4 t), because I didn't have any fresh. Used shredded carrot, celery, water chestnuts and broccoli this time, but I am sure other veggie combos would work just as well. Definitely give this one a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This recipe gives you such amazing Asian/orange flavors. I followed the stir-fry suggestions of some other reviewers--used strips of pork and added garlic, fresh ginger root, red pepper flakes, fresh veggies, water chestnuts, a little chicken broth. Delicious and easy. I used low-sodium soy sauce and that was just right. I think this would be even tastier with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
My husband said it didn't have any taste. My daughter thought it was too much orange flavor even though I didn't put as much oj in and also added other things (garlic, chili paste, carrots, water chestnuts, and more). My husband told me not to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This was pretty good, but it didn't rock our world. I probably won't make it again any time soon...."To each his own"! Thanks for sharing tho! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Perry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
4 stars for the concept and I made some minor changes. For the pork, I cut the chops into strips as others did, and for the sauce, instead of using water I used ginger ale and used brown sugar instead of white. Reduced the amount of sugar to counter the sugar in the ginger ale, and tripled the amounts for 3x the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Chef John’s Caramel Pork Belly

See how to make a sweet-and-spicy, Asian-inspired pork belly dish.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States