Orange Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I tried this recipe exactly as written and found it to be quite good. The only thing I intend to do differently the next time I make it, is to use low sodium soy sauce and more cornstarch and water. Unless you like a very salty taste and a rather thin sauce, I would recommend both changes for a really nice pork chop supper. I served mine tonight with white rice and corn, and the combination worked well. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
The kids and hubby loved this! Is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
My kids loved this, my husband said it would be better if marinated in sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aroosak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I substituted brown sugar for the white sugar, added 1/4 tsp ground ginger, substituted oj for the water. I also put in 2 potatoes, 2 carrots, 1 onion, 2 stalks of celery, 1 red pepper, and cut up the pork chops into cubes. I loved the flavour of this, and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I used vege-pork instead and it turned out very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Came out great!! I did make some changes however... I cut the pork chopsinto rectangular peices and dipped in flour before I sauted them. (I added cracked pepper, salt, ginger, garlic powder and mesquite seasoning to the flour.) I doubled the OJ and brown sugar and only used 1/8th soy sauce. I added matchstick carrots (1/2 cup), sliced red, orange and yellow sweet peppers (about 8 med sized peppers) Garlic and half a medium onion. instead of adding corn starch I added low sodium chicken broth like someone suggested... I added the chicken and let it simmer down and thicken up. Came out great!!! Thanks all for your recipe and suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie0469
Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
The gravy was a little too salty. Next time, I will use low sodium soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Excellent dish! I picked up a pound of boneless pork loinchops that I cut up in large pieces. I seasoned with salt and black pepper and dredged in flour. In a skillet I heated up the veg oil then cooked the pork chops, and set it aside. To the same skillet I added a little more oil, then I grated a ginger (thumb size) and added one garlic clove, chopped,and scraped the bottom bits up before adding the orange juice, soy sauce and brown sugar. I heated up the sauce to a boil. I actually used 2 naval oranges for the orange juice called for in this recipe. I also zested a little orange (1 tsp.)for a more stronger orange flavor. I thickened up the sauce with cornstarch and orange juice that I reserved on the side. I added the pork back and simmered for a few more minutes. Delicious and full of flavor! I was very pleased with this dish - easy to prepare and very tasty. I loved the orange sauce which was just right, not overpowering at all. The brown sugar was a better choice for the orange sauce. The orangey aroma was inviting as well. I served this with, "Colorful Fried Rice," and "Garlic Broccoli Spears," also from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I didnt have a great orange juice but other than that it wasnt too bad but I found it had a funny smell while cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Buckle
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Really good, with similar modifications as others. Made it as a stir fry: doubled and sliced the meat; tripled the sauce, adding diced ginger and garlic; substituted brown sugar for white; added broccoli, carrots, and zucchini. Close enough to Chinese for the picky 10 and 12 year olds at my table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Chef John’s Caramel Pork Belly

See how to make a sweet-and-spicy, Asian-inspired pork belly dish.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States