Orange Poppy Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
These are really good muffins. I didn't have orange peel, so I subbed orange extract. Didn't make the spread, but did like some other reviewers and made an orange glaze. Very nice flavor and still good several days later! Thanks for sharing your recipe, Pam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
These were great! They are myhusbands new favorite! I didn't have sour cream so I used low fat vanilla yogurt and I squeezed the juice from the orange. To get my husband to eat anything that is made with yogurt is a miracle. They were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I am rating just the muffins as I did not make the spread. These were fantastic! I made a couple of revisions. I was out of sour cream so substituted vanilla yogurt I had on hand. I doubled the orange juice and zest to kick up the orange flavor a notch. The recipe was so easy my preschooler helped to make them. They were enjoyed by all in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Wonderful muffin! What a great find especially if you LOVE orange. No additions needed as the delicate orange flavor is the real hero here. I doubled the orange juice and the orange zest as I really wanted to heighten the flavor. I baked these in a Texas sized muffin tin lined with paper liners so I got a half dozen really big muffins. I topped them with some turbinado sugar before baking. They took about 24 minutes at 400 and were nicely browned on top. I did an orange glaze over top made from orange juice and confectioners' sugar to really give these muffins a nice sheen and bring out even more of that wonderful citrus flavor - this is a real keeper! And, while I'm sure the orange spread is wonderful these muffins were great on their own...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This review is for the muffins only, although the orange spread sounds like a great addition. I followed the recipe, but I did make mine a little larger than directed and got 7 good-sized muffins. The addition of the orange zest gave these just the right amount of orange flavor. I, too, made a glaze of confectioners sugar and orange juice and drizzled it over the tops of the cooled muffins. Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
These muffins are AWESOME! Absolutely delicious.I will use this recipe again for sure. This recipe also made a quantity of 12. Thank You for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
These are wonderful muffins. Since I made these for an upcoming swim meet and the muffins would need to be transported, I did not make the butter. Instead I made an orange glaze to top the muffins. I was able to use fresh orange juice for both the muffins and the glaze, and the flavor is just right. My kids have already snatched one before the meet, and can't wait to have more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
These were wonderful. I had no trouble with dense muffins. I did wonder, because the batter was very thick. I made ten nice sized muffins that were just slightly crunchy on top. The spread was a wonderful addition. It is not meant bo be an icing. I'll definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
These muffins are very similar to the ones my Grandmother used to make when I was a child. She however did not use the orange butter, but instead used an orange glaze of squeezed orange juice and powdered sugar drizzled over the warm muffins. It soaks in and then slightly hardens on top. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minnie may

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Luray, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Good flavor. The spread is a nice treat and makes it special. It is very buttery and rich though, so we had to use it sparingly. I will try using a little less butter next time and whipping it up a little fluffier, if possible, rather than just smooth. I tried adding a little extra flour as recommended by one of the reviewers, but without adjusting the other ingredients as well, the batter was a little too thick and made for heavier muffins. Next time I'll follow the recipe and make fewer muffins that are larger, and hopefully lighter. I think fresh grated orange peel instead of dried might have been better too. Next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States