Orange-Pineapple Ice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I have made this for over three decades and my family even before that. For us, we use a regular store bought ice cream maker, from Target, and 2L of Sunkist, 2 cans of condensed milk, and the small can, or about half of the large can of crushed pineapple. It has always worked perfect for us with lots of ice around the tube and rock salt. It does take a few hours. Be sure to drain out the melted salt water and add fresh ice plus salt often. FYI: My grandfather had the huge wooden ice cream maker and it made much more...maybe that is where the large amount of soda comes from. They just dont sell those big maker much anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
this recipe was good with the potential to be much better with a few adjustments. Next time I will add mandarin oranges instead of pineapple, which my kids weren't crazy about. I will also take great care to get rid of the fizzies (carbonation)by skimming off with a spoon before turning on the ice cream machine. The kids wanted to know what the powdery taste was. I will certainly try it again but tweak it just a little. *I also used fat free condensed milk and diet sunkist to keep it low-cal and low-fat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
WE made this exactly following the recipe and it was not such a huge hit, but we could tell it had potential. We played aroung with it and used 2 cans sweetened condensed milk , 1 can crushed pineapple, and a 2 liter bottle of orange soda and it was a huge hit. People who do not even like orange ice cream were raving over it , and at the end of the night we had to run the kids away from the freezer because they were taking turns licking the spinner in the ice cream freezer. Will make again for sure!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
We really enjoyed this, but used 2 liters of soda (about 8 cups or a half gallon). It made 3 quarts of the "ice." Since the soda foamed up as I added it, I started adding a bit at a time and stirring/folding to reduce the carbonation. BTW, we also used fat-free condensed milk and diet soda. Came in at 52 calories and no fat for a half cup serving. WooHoo! Thanks, Donean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
I use fat free sweetened condensed milk, 8 oz pineapple and ONLY ONE 2 liter soda...also good with other flavors....sometimes I add 1 cup coconut...yummmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
I had to make a 1/2 batch to fit in my 4 quart ice-cream freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
This was only O.K. and probably wouldn't try again anytime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
Okay, I'm new to ice cream makers so maybe I did something wrong...a GALLON of soda? Is this for commercial grade ice cream makers?? Less than half of the two liter fit in there and I have a common/popular maker. The taste, after frozen, was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERI KENNELLY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2001
My family has been making and enjoying this for years. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States