Orange Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rachel k.
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
this pie is delicious!! such a rich good flavor, and so so easy! i followed to a t and it came out wonderful, i wouldnt change a thing!!! try it out, it is a different kind of dessert, but in such a yummy way! my hubby and I had it gone in an hour, make two of these!! would be great for a summertime dish:-) thank you for sharing such a delicious little treasure, will make it again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel k.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Quick, easy and good. I used half cup of country time for mine. I had been making this for years but it had been so long since I made it....I had to look it up and found this one. You can sub pretty much any cool aid flavor you want. Grape was a little......weird and so was cherry but country time makes some good choices, which is what I used last night. Lemonade :) Very nice. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
I made the pie according to the recipe, I thought the amount of Tang lended a very artificial and indestinct flavor. I make the pie once more, using 1/2 cup orange juice concentrate and 2 Tbs. Tang. My family and friends loved it! Great orange flavor with a bit of tangy goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Even with fat free ingredients, this pie was tasty and kid approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This was fantastic considering how EASY and quick this is. I couldn't find my "orange flavored drink mix", so I used a packet of orange flavored koolaid that's been collecting dust in my cupboard. It gave me the idea to use up all the other flavors since we don't drink koolaid anymore with this recipe. Can't wait to try the raspberry! (I also omitted the extra fruit - I don't care for mandarin oranges like that)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
You must love sugar to enjoy this pie because it is super-sweet. It is one of my favorites. I omit the cream cheese and mandarin oranges, using only 1 cup dry orange* drink mix, 1 tub whipped topping, and 1 can sweetend condensed milk. It is ready to eat immediately, without even chilling because of the thick texture. Don't use the low-fat, light or fat-free whipped topping -- it doesn't hold the pie together as well. (*Tang works best. I have not had good results with other orange drink mixes, or even other flavored drink mixes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2000
This pie was very pretty to look at but not very good. It was sickly sweet ( and I am a sweet lover) and had a wierd gooey texture. I made it for company, and most people only ate a bite or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2000
The very best orange pie I have ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This recipe did not thicken. Mixing condensed milk with the cream cheese was very runny and I left it for 24 hrs in the frig and it still didn't set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This is really quite tasty. I personally followed the recipe except using generic "tang" from the grocery store and instead of garnishing with the mandarin slices, I diced them and folded them into the pie filling. In any case, it's terribly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States