Orange Peel Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
The marinade needs some work. 1 tbsp of soy sauce is not enough to flavor 1.5 lbs of beef. Next time would think about increasing soy sauce, and maybe adding some chopped garlic and ginger to marinade as well. Rest of recipe was pretty good. I deep fried the stips of beef and then just tossed it lightly in the prepared sauce just before serviing. With white rice and steamed broccoli, tasted just like Orange Beef that you get at the local Chinese place. Will keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harkers Island, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I've made this several times. This time, I doubled the amount of sauce and added some steamed broccoli, which made it a complete meal. Planning to try the sauce on chicken next. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
We loved it! I would definately marinate for 2.5 to 3 hours. I just made this again and did marinate for 2 hours and wow! So yummy! I recomend doubling the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stampspice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quesnel, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe. I doubled the sauce, b/c I had a bit more meat than the recipe called for. Plus, I decided to add some veggies (a head of broccoli, a red bell pepper, and a small red onion). I didn't have any frozen juice concentrate, so I juiced two lemons and three mandarin oranges, mixed them with 2 tbsp. sugar, and cooked it down till it reduced by half. I also didn't have any rice vinegar, so I used white. The meat was tender and the sauce was tangy. I only wish the meat was crisper on the outside, but the cornstarch it was marinated in started making the meat a bit liquidy, even before I added the orange sauce. It was great overall, and I look forward to leftovers tomorrow! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I tripled the recipe and made this for my after church Sunday dinner crowd. Everyone really liked it. I served it with fried rice and egg rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Absolutely delicious!!! This was by FAR the best short-time meal I have ever made! I created the marinade before my sports practice and stuck it in the fridge. I arrived home at 8:15 and had this with steamed broccoli on the plate at 8:35! For three people! One of the best oriental dishes on here
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I took the other reviews into account when making this and did double the amount of the sauce...great suggestion. My family likes things very spicy, so I think the next time I make it I will double the amount of red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This is really good and so easy! I, too, cooked the beef first and then added the garlic, ginger and orange zest. Used 2/3 C prepared orange juice. Will add green onions next time and maybe water chestnuts. Topped with a bit of minced parsley and served with rice. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terriyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Tastes like authentic Chinese. That being said, when my husband prepared it, he used 2 lb of beef, and doubled everything else - with the exception of the red pepper flakes, which he quadrupled. He also deep fried the beef to make it crispy, since we do not have a wok. The sauce made a nice glaze, which let the brown rice we served it with, stick to it nicely. It was on the higher end of my hotness tolerance for me, but my husband could take it spicier - so a nice average for the spice level. If you would like to serve any broccoli, or other veggies with it, I would recommend doing either 4x or 6x the amount of sauce in the recipe, and cut back a bit on the cornstarch. With the extra pepper, the flavors of the orange, ginger, garlic and sesame really came through. Another variation we will try is frying the beef and serving the sauce as a dipping side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Silverdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States