Orange Pecan French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Very nice, we all enjoyed the subtle orange flavor. We found it to be a little lighter than the traditional cream based baked French toast recipes I have tried. I used a challah bread I had made instead of the French bread – just a personal preference. If you are going to use thick slices of bread as I did, I would increase the liquid mixture slightly. It was a nice change of pace from our usual baked French toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Perfect! Served it on Mother's Day and it MADE the event special... :-) Cp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Porter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This french toast is delicious. I made this for a Mother's Day brunch and it was a big hit. My guests found it to be more like a cinnamon bun, but loved it. I prepped it the night before and put it in the fridge. I was worried the next day because all the liquid was absorbed into the bread, but it came out perfectly. I can't wait to be invited to a brunch so I can make this for others! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
It burns a little and people don't know what it is because it doesn't look like the picture. The top of the roll is on the bottom of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I served this to guests at my B&B this past weekend - they loved it. I found it a bit too sweet, hence the 4-star rating. I will serve it again, but cut down on the sugar. The orange flavor is very nice, though! Thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This was the perfect decadent breakfast. My guests loved it. I followed the directions exactly. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
My family loved this! It is a bit more rich than I'm accustomed to for breakfast, but it smells heavenly and gets everyone to the table quickly. In fact, my brothers and husband were checking on it before it was even ready. Great choice for brunch or a special morning when you have time to enjoy this with loved ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I followed the recipe as written and found this to be way too sweet. I would recommend the clone of a cinnabon instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by solar_biscuit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ramona, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Made this today for a light lunch and served it with a chopped salad. Changed servings to 6 and used Challah bread (egg bread) instead of French Bread. I used 8-9 1/4 inch thick slices slightly overlapping in 2 layers, in small oval baking dish. I was in a rush so it only refrigerated for 15 minutes, but all the liquid was absorbed into the bread before it went into the oven. It came out very puffy, but deflated as it cooled a bit. It was delicious and moist even though the top looked a little dry. Not bsure why the recipe puts the sugar and pecan mixture on the bottom and not the top since the casserole is not inverted when you serve it. A much easier and less fattening recipe than Paula Deen's French Toast Casserole, which I have made and is scrumptious. This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States