Orange Pecan French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! The next time I will leave out the added sugar in the eggs. I only put in 1 T, but it was really sweet. I used Italian bread from Costo and left the crust on. I would say it would serve 6 to 8. I think I had 8 slices of bread in my 9 x13 pan. I also doubled the orange zest. It took all the liquid just fine. Leave it alone. A real keeper. Thank you for the recipe SR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This sounded like a unique recipe, but for some reason my husband and I didn't care for it. We didn't love the texture. I gave this 4 stars because I will most likely make this again for family gatherings as I know my aunts/uncles/cousins would love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Extremely sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Good flavor, a little time consuming since you have to think ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I made this exactly as written and it was amazing. simply AMAZING. Rich and gourmet tasting. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
When making this recipe I found out I needed a larger pan. 9x13 is not big enough for 12 slices of bread. In the picture it shows a round crescent or muffin. I followed the recipe to the "T" and it turned out very good. A little too sweet for us. I will make this again but cut back on the sugar to 1/2 cup for the topping and leave off dusting with confectioner sugar. Also will lay down foil then grease. the sugar and nuts stick to the pan when cooled off. I also love the orange flavor that it gives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Made this according to the directions and absolutely loved it!!!!! My family thought this was absolutely amazing!! We plan to make it for Christmas and Thanksgiving breakfasts from now on. Then for some other occasions throughout the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Cut the sugar in half and let sit over night! Awesome, not as sweet as I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I think this is the best breakfast I've ever had. This is just delicious. The french toast melts in your mouth. The consistency of it is heavenly. I did modify the recipe a little bit, because I am very intolerant to sugar. I used 1/4 cup brown sugar for the top (no syrup), did not use sugar at all for the orange mixture, and did not use confectioner's sugar for dusting). My husband told me when he had the first try he had an "Anton Ego moment". I stayed happy all morning. This recipe made my day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama, Panama Province, Panama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States