Orange Pecan French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This was delicious. Definitely a keeper. I didn't have pecans so I used walnuts...turned out great. Small suggestion, let it sit for about 15 minutes before cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoxanneG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Made these for the first time Christmas morning. Rave reviews all around. My only suggestion would be to make more than 2 slices each, everyone will want seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Yummy, yummy, yummy! I made it for Christmas brunch and it was a hit. The only modification I made was to add an extra egg in place of the egg whites, since I didn't want to think up something to do with the yolks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This recipe is an absolutely indulging treat! Prepared the night before Christmas and served after a fun morning of present opening. I used egg nog in place of milk and I'll do the same when I make this recipe again. I found the baking time to be way too short. After an additional 10 minutes in the oven, the bread was still too soggy in the middle. Next time I'll bake for ~50 minutes tenting the top with foil after 40 minutes to avoid the top getting burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Made this today and the entire family loved it!! Great recipe!! I really didn't change a thing except added more pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I get a lot of requests for this dish. I followed the recipe exactly as listed and it's just so yummy! It tastes just as good heated up the next day. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Very good. Used 4 whole eggs instead of dividing. Took it to work and got many requests for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arkansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Pea Ridge, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This french toast was SUCH a hit at yesterday's father's day brunch! I followed what other reviewers said and cut down slightly on the sugar (did about 3/4 cup of brown sugar and 2 tablespoons of white sugar). I also put the bread in the oven at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes, turning over halfway through. This kept the bread from getting soggy. This was so easy to make as well! I made it all overnight and then just in the oven when guests were arriving. Once it was done I let it set for about 5-10 minutes so we got a nice caramelized texture on top. I served with cool whip and blueberries, raspberries and blackberries. It was excellent! Not too sweet at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Very good! But very sweet (as expected). I halved the recipe except that I used a half cup of pecans and two whole eggs for the six slices of bread. The recipe says to make the bread fit snugly into the dish. I made six slices in a 7 x 11 baking dish and they were snug...so snug that I had to pour the egg mixture onto four slices to snuggle the other two into the pan. We each ate two slices; according to the recipe, that's two servings, but two didn't really seem excessive. This is a keeper! Thanks, SR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I made this for Easter brunch this Sunday and it stole the show!!!! Everyone- from my sister, to my husband, to my parents, to my in-laws- said it was one of the best french toasts they'd ever had. The brown sugar pecan topping is perfect! I followed one reviewer's recommendation to use frozen loaves of french bread- Pepperidge Farm or your local grocery store brand- so that the pieces didn't get too soggy. Worked out PERFECTLY. Soooo impressive. I would give it "10 stars" if I could! Love, love, love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States