Orange Pecan French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Great recipe! Tasted just like warm pecan rolls, but much easier to make. After having read over 200 reviews of the recipe, I made the following adjustments: greased bottom and sides of the 9X13 pan with shortening (for easier release of the baked french toast); cut the slices of french bread 1" thick; added twice the amount of orange zest; used a total of 6 whole eggs (both yolk and egg white) and 1/2 c. + 2 T. 2% milk for the liquid mixture (to better cover all of the bread); baked the dish for 45 minutes; and let the dish set for 10 minutes after taking it out of the oven before serving it. I did not add the white sugar to the liquid mixture, but I did use an entire cup of light brown sugar for the pecan topping as the recipe called for. My company loved it and immediately asked for the recipe. It made 6 large or 8 small servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Good-made for grandsons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Wood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
This was awesome! Made it for my future in-laws for their first visit to my home. I did not change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Big hit, added more orange zest than called for other wise didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Change nothing. Eat everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
It got raves!! I substituted a cranberry walnut peasent type loaf; cutting each long slice in half,then sprinkled raisens and more pecans before covering the bottom slice. I did omit the 2 tbls. of sugar in egg mixture. Otherwise I followed the recipe as written. It was plenty moist, but the crusts got a little crispy. Perfect. This will be a classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I made this recipe Saturday night and cooked it Sunday morning and it was DELICIOUS!!!!!!! I made it exactly the way directed. If you don't like sweets very much I would lighten up on the sugar. And I would recommend to cook it about 50 minutes instead of 35. Other than that it was outstanding!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommylovesnoah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Excellent recipe - perfect when hosting visiting teams. Follow the directions for preparing the night before - 8 teenagers equals two full pans with no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sitka, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This recipe is AMAZING!!! Love trying new things and this is definitely a step up from your mama's french toast!! Am keeping the recipe bookmarked for the next brunch I need to impress at! Thank you SR whoever you are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States