Orange Pecan French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This recipe is an absolutely indulging treat! Prepared the night before Christmas and served after a fun morning of present opening. I used egg nog in place of milk and I'll do the same when I make this recipe again. I found the baking time to be way too short. After an additional 10 minutes in the oven, the bread was still too soggy in the middle. Next time I'll bake for ~50 minutes tenting the top with foil after 40 minutes to avoid the top getting burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Made this today and the entire family loved it!! Great recipe!! I really didn't change a thing except added more pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I get a lot of requests for this dish. I followed the recipe exactly as listed and it's just so yummy! It tastes just as good heated up the next day. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Very good. Used 4 whole eggs instead of dividing. Took it to work and got many requests for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arkansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Pea Ridge, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This french toast was SUCH a hit at yesterday's father's day brunch! I followed what other reviewers said and cut down slightly on the sugar (did about 3/4 cup of brown sugar and 2 tablespoons of white sugar). I also put the bread in the oven at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes, turning over halfway through. This kept the bread from getting soggy. This was so easy to make as well! I made it all overnight and then just in the oven when guests were arriving. Once it was done I let it set for about 5-10 minutes so we got a nice caramelized texture on top. I served with cool whip and blueberries, raspberries and blackberries. It was excellent! Not too sweet at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Very good! But very sweet (as expected). I halved the recipe except that I used a half cup of pecans and two whole eggs for the six slices of bread. The recipe says to make the bread fit snugly into the dish. I made six slices in a 7 x 11 baking dish and they were snug...so snug that I had to pour the egg mixture onto four slices to snuggle the other two into the pan. We each ate two slices; according to the recipe, that's two servings, but two didn't really seem excessive. This is a keeper! Thanks, SR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I made this for Easter brunch this Sunday and it stole the show!!!! Everyone- from my sister, to my husband, to my parents, to my in-laws- said it was one of the best french toasts they'd ever had. The brown sugar pecan topping is perfect! I followed one reviewer's recommendation to use frozen loaves of french bread- Pepperidge Farm or your local grocery store brand- so that the pieces didn't get too soggy. Worked out PERFECTLY. Soooo impressive. I would give it "10 stars" if I could! Love, love, love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
These were delicious! Although, I thought it was a wee bit sweet, so maybe next time, I will use light brown sugar. Of course, my kiddo didn't mind the sweetness but would like the orange taste to shine. I had halved the recipe and used a remekin. I simply cut round breads from a drinking glass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Awesome recipe! I was worried about mixing the OJ and milk together but it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Kingsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I think it had good flavor, but Im not quite sure the egg and liquid ratio was right on. I followed directions exactly and after I baked it the next day, it still seemed soggy or moist in the middle of the bread (and I even left it in longer to bake after trying a piece). Maybe it needed more egg and less other liquid?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States