Orange Pecan French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This is a very good, very easy recipe. It is also very sweet. I'll try it again with less sugar next time. I used French bread, cream instead of milk, the zest and the juice of two oranges, and four whole eggs, because that's what I had on hand. All in all, a great, simple recipe if you're wanting a sweet dish in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I was disappointed. Much of the carmelized sugar stuck on the bottom of the pan. What I did lift up was really sticky and chewy. I also did not taste orange at all. I did not have thick bread so used two thinner slices. I might try it again but put the sugar/butter/pecan between the slices. Then I'd make an orange syrup to pour on top when serving. The taste was OK just not at all what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariap430

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
OVER THE TOP!! Served on Christmas morning and only changes I made was to use 1/4 C of Grand Marnier and only 3/4 C of OJ. Used 3 eggs and 2 egg whites. Will definitely be our new Christmas brunch tradition for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I made this for Christmas breakfast. This is a wonderful and easy dish to make. I made it as written and it was a big hit! I recommend this dish highly. It will be my go to dish for Christmas and company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyliss H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beltsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Absolutely amazing! I can't wait to make this again! I used basic table syrup just because I don't buy corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I absolutely loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I liked how the orange came through, though it was a bit too sweet for my tastes. The caramel layer seemed thick and distracted from the French toast itself. I'm glad I tried this recipe, though it's not a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I'm confused about something: Is the bread the bottom layer or is the brown sugar mix the bottom layer? In the instructions it's a bit confusing how they are stacked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
absolutely delicious. I didn't change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gina
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Oh I really loved this recipe. Wonderful flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States