Orange Pecan French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly, and doubled it for a larger group. The cooking time remained the same of about 35 minutes. It was super easy to prepare. I prepped it the night before, used 1.5 French baguettes, which soaked up all the liquid by morning. Let it sit out as directed for 20 minutes than baked it. The I flipped it over as I served the guests with the sticky gooey yummy side up. Everyone loved it! I'll definitely make it again when I'm hosting a large group for brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Tastes great. Needs more pecans per my tastes. Doubled the amount called for and could still use a few more. If you like pecan pie, then you'll want to add extra pecans. Otherwise, it's just a sprinkling of nuts as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I liked the bits of orange peel in this, but it does need to be grated fine. The spice of it was just right. This is a nice offering for any brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Amazing! Everyone loved it! I flipped it over after baking, onto another pan. Recipe doesn't say to do this, but pictures show it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Such a great recipe! I edited it a little bit. For those who are wondering about putting the brown sugar mixture on the bottom, this is what I did. First off, I used 4 eggs, 3/4 cup oj, 1/2 cup milk, and 1/4 cup half and half. I then added the cinnamon and vanilla as well as a bit of nutmeg and allspice and the zest of an entire orange. I didn't use any white sugar. I then placed the bread in the pan and poured the mixture over the bread and let it sit overnight in the fridge. In the morning, before placing it in the oven, I mixed half a cup of brown sugar, 1/4 cup melted butter, 2 tbsp maple syrup, and 1/3 cup chopped pecans. I then spread this mixture over the top of each slice of bread and then put it in the oven for 45 min. It made a delicious brown sugar crust and tasted heavenly. Nothing stuck to the bottom and everyone loved it. Just a thought for those that worry about it sticking to the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This is a very good, very easy recipe. It is also very sweet. I'll try it again with less sugar next time. I used French bread, cream instead of milk, the zest and the juice of two oranges, and four whole eggs, because that's what I had on hand. All in all, a great, simple recipe if you're wanting a sweet dish in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I was disappointed. Much of the carmelized sugar stuck on the bottom of the pan. What I did lift up was really sticky and chewy. I also did not taste orange at all. I did not have thick bread so used two thinner slices. I might try it again but put the sugar/butter/pecan between the slices. Then I'd make an orange syrup to pour on top when serving. The taste was OK just not at all what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
OVER THE TOP!! Served on Christmas morning and only changes I made was to use 1/4 C of Grand Marnier and only 3/4 C of OJ. Used 3 eggs and 2 egg whites. Will definitely be our new Christmas brunch tradition for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I made this for Christmas breakfast. This is a wonderful and easy dish to make. I made it as written and it was a big hit! I recommend this dish highly. It will be my go to dish for Christmas and company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyliss H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beltsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Absolutely amazing! I can't wait to make this again! I used basic table syrup just because I don't buy corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States