Orange Pecan French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
SOP, I love you. I made this today for a friend of mine who came for breakfast with frozen blackberries sweetened with a little sugar and some homemade whipped cream...and out of the baked French toast recipes that I've tried this one is absolutely the best. I did make some adaptations which worked out quite nicely; added a little more orange peel than the recipe called for and a little less orange juice (about 1/2 cup). I also used brioche instead of French bread and was delighted with the results! Thank you (and the bed & breakfast you and your husband stayed at!) for supplying this amazing recipe. It'll be on my repetoire for YEARS to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
I made this for a brunch at work and it was a big hit. I baked it in two round dishes instead of an oblong, so I could warm it in the microwave. The round bread fit nicely in the round dishes. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
This was really good, and really easy! I'm making it for the second time this morning. Going to leave out the cinnamon this time. Does fine to make it the night before. Going to make it immediately this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
Very good! I used skim milk and 5 whole eggs. I also used walnuts instead of pecans. I used sourdough and I wouldn't recommend that, because it tasted too "sour" with the OJ and all. My 3-year old loved sprinkling the powdered sugar on top! (And...this is the first thing I've baked in my brand-new oven! I'm so excited!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
AMAZING! Would make again in a heartbeat, no modifications needed to the recipe in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This recipe is phenomenal. One tip is to either use stale bread or crisp it up in the oven before hand. My family adores it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I made this for Christmas brunch. Everyone loved it! Almost all went back for seconds. I enjoyed a slice that was left over the next day. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
WOW- was a hit for Christmas Eve brunch! I used real maple syrup instead of corn syrup & 3/8 cup of Egg Beaters for the egg whites. The pan was completely empty when I went back for seconds!!! P.S.- If you use one of the loaves from the twin pack of Pepperidge Farms french bread, it fills the 13x9 perfectly. Good texture, too.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
This is a great variation to your breakfast menu. I prepared the night before and then baked in the morning. It would go great with a cream cheese frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
I cut the sugar in half and it was still deliciously sweet. I thought it was just right! yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States