Orange Pecan French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
This is an excellent recipe. I didn't need to modify it at all, but I did based on what I had available. I substituted walnuts for pecans and added orange-flavored cranberries before layering the bread. The flavor was excellent and the walnuts helped to tone the richness of the french toast. The only note I would add is that I would let it set for approximately 10-15 minutes before serving. The butter, sugar, syrup mixture needs a little time to carmalize and the french toast retains the heat for quite a while after serving. The 10-15 minutes will also allow the bread to firm up a little and arrive at a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tichelle77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
SOP, I love you. I made this today for a friend of mine who came for breakfast with frozen blackberries sweetened with a little sugar and some homemade whipped cream...and out of the baked French toast recipes that I've tried this one is absolutely the best. I did make some adaptations which worked out quite nicely; added a little more orange peel than the recipe called for and a little less orange juice (about 1/2 cup). I also used brioche instead of French bread and was delighted with the results! Thank you (and the bed & breakfast you and your husband stayed at!) for supplying this amazing recipe. It'll be on my repetoire for YEARS to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This recipe is phenomenal. One tip is to either use stale bread or crisp it up in the oven before hand. My family adores it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
Very good! I used skim milk and 5 whole eggs. I also used walnuts instead of pecans. I used sourdough and I wouldn't recommend that, because it tasted too "sour" with the OJ and all. My 3-year old loved sprinkling the powdered sugar on top! (And...this is the first thing I've baked in my brand-new oven! I'm so excited!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
WOW- was a hit for Christmas Eve brunch! I used real maple syrup instead of corn syrup & 3/8 cup of Egg Beaters for the egg whites. The pan was completely empty when I went back for seconds!!! P.S.- If you use one of the loaves from the twin pack of Pepperidge Farms french bread, it fills the 13x9 perfectly. Good texture, too.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
I made this for Christmas day breakfast. They were good, but way too sweet, and I even cut the sugar down a bit. They were not immediately requested again by the kids, which is my barometer for rating a recipe. I may try this again sometime with a few tweakings to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
This was really good, and really easy! I'm making it for the second time this morning. Going to leave out the cinnamon this time. Does fine to make it the night before. Going to make it immediately this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
I made this for a brunch at work and it was a big hit. I baked it in two round dishes instead of an oblong, so I could warm it in the microwave. The round bread fit nicely in the round dishes. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
AMAZING! Would make again in a heartbeat, no modifications needed to the recipe in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
Delicious! I used Italian bread for bigger slices, and served with raspberries and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States